March 02, 2024 03:32 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Delhi court orders Bloomberg to take down 'defamatory' article against Zee | 9 injured as IED blast rocks Bengaluru's Rameshwaram Cafe, CM Siddaramaiah confirms | India expresses 'deep shock' over Israeli soldiers killing civilians at Gaza aid distribution point | 'Raised issues of state': Mamata Banerjee meets PM Modi at Raj Bhavan in Kolkata | Two SFI leaders among those arrested in connection with Kerala student death case

Indian votes in final phase of Lok Sabha polls

India is voting in the final phase of the Lok Sabha polls on Saturday. Voting began at 7 am in themorning. 

India votes in 6th phase of Lok Sabha polls

India is on Sunday voting in the penultimate phase of the mammoth seven-phase Lok Sabha election 2019.

Indian votes in fifth phase of Lok Sabha polls

India is voting in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha polls on Monday as voters will decide the fates of candidates contesting in 51 seats, spread across seven states.

Cyclone Fani hits Odisha, over a million people evacuated to safety

The land fall impact of extremely severe cyclonic storm Fani has started this morning. 

#IndiaVotes: Polling underway for fourth phase of LS elections in India

Voting is underway for the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha polls where electorates will decide the fates of candidates contesting in 72 seats across nine states of India. The polling is going on in one seat in Jammu and Kashmir, 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, six in Madhya Pradesh, 17 in Maharashtra, five in Bihar , three in Jharkhand , six in Odisha , eight in West Bengal and one in Sikkim. In several polling booths across the states, voters could be seen lining up before 0700 hrs, eagerly waiting to participate in world's largest democratic exercise. An electorate of 12,79,58,477 will decide the fate of a total of 961 candidates who are in fray from 71 constitutencies. 

Dance of Democracy: India Votes in Biggest Round

India today votes in the  biggest phase of Lok Sabha polls. Voting began at 0700 hrs  to elect representatives from 117 Lok Sabha constituencies across 13 states and two Union Territories in the third of the seven-phase 2019 General Election. More than 18 crore, 85 lakh voters are going to decide the fate of 1,640 candidates in over 210,000 polling booths.  Prime Minister Narendra Modi voted in Gujarat's Ahmedabad this morning. Prominent candidates in the fray on Tuesday in the third phase include the presidents of the two main political parties, BJP chief Amit Shah making his Lok Sabha election debut from Gandhinagar in Gujarat and Congress President Rahul Gandhi, who is contesting from Wayanad, his second constituency apart from Amethi, Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav seeking re-election from Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh, Supriya Sule, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate from Baramati in Maharashtra and former Congress minister Shashi Tharoor from the Thiruvananthapuram constituency in Kerala.

India votes in second phase of Lok Sabha polls

The second of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections in India is witnessing incidents of violence at several places in West Bengal. Polling is now on in 95 parliamentary constituencies in 11 states and a Union Territory.

Shootings in New Zealand mosques kill at least 49

At least 40 people were killed and many injured at two Christchurch mosques in shootings by gunmen who stormed inside the premises in the worst terror attack in New Zealand . The shootings occurred at two mosques - one at Deans Avenue and the other at Linwood Avenue - in Christchurch. With the death toll in mosque shootings in New Zealand's Christchurch rising to about 40, New Zealand's Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern held a press conference about the carnage in the country's east coast city of Christchurch and termed the incident one of New Zealand's darkest days. "It is clear that this is one of New Zealand's darkest days. What has happened here is an extraordinary and unprecedented act of violence," Ardern told reporters. "For now my thoughts and I'm sure the thoughts of all New Zealanders are with those who have been affected and also with the families," Ardern added.

Election Commission announces Lok Sabha polls from April 11

New Delhi: The Election Commission announced the much-awaited dates of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in India on Sunday. The seven phase election starts from April 11. The seventh phase of polling will be held on May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23. The Lok Sabha elections will be held simultaneously with Assembly polls in four states -- Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Odisha.