June 16, 2024 15:20 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
After his 'Lord Ram' taunt on BJP creates uproar, RSS leader makes a U-turn | NDA govt formed by mistake, can fall anytime: Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge's claim | PM Modi returns to India after 'successful completion of G7 Outreach Summit' in Italy | Delhi LG approves prosecution of Arundhati Roy, Sheikh Showkat Hussain in 2010 provocative speech case | BS Yediyurappa, accused of harassing minor, can't be arrested till next hearing: Karnataka HC
Live Blog: The historic swearing-in of Narendra Modi
Modi 3.0

Live Blog: The historic swearing-in of Narendra Modi

| @indiablooms | 09 Jun 2024, 03:51 pm

Narendra Modi is the second politician after Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru to become Prime Minister for the third consecutive term as he takes oath on June 9 evening at 7-15 pm along with a council of ministers in the presence of heads of states from neighbouring countries. Narendra Modi on June 4 returned for a rare third consecutive term in office with his allies, but fell short of an absolute majority for his BJP (240 seats as against 272 required), in an election that gave a new lease of life to a Congress-led disparate Opposition bloc- INDIA-  as the anti-Modi union halted the saffron juggernaut to under 300. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Modi's BJP garnered 293 seats while the opposition INDIA bloc bagged 234 in the 543-member Paliament. 

LIVE Updates

Glimpses of PM Narendra Modi's historic swearing-in ceremony

09 Jun 2024, 11:14 pm

Chirag Paswan joins Modi's team

09 Jun 2024, 08:32 pm

Kiren Rijiju takes oath

09 Jun 2024, 08:26 pm

Three-time MP Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu takes oath to join Modi's Cabinet

09 Jun 2024, 08:12 pm

Former Bihar Chief Minister and state politician Jitan Ram Manjhi joins Modi's team

09 Jun 2024, 08:02 pm

Piyush Goyal takes oath during the grand ceremony

09 Jun 2024, 07:48 pm

Several members of Narendra Modi's previous team take oath

09 Jun 2024, 07:40 pm

Several key members of Narendra Modi's former ministry took oath on Sunday. 

The prominent names include Nirmala Sitharaman,Rajnath Singh, JP Nadda, S Jaishankar and Amit Shah.

Former Madhya Pradesh MP Shivraj Singh Chouhan takes oath

09 Jun 2024, 07:37 pm

Narendra Modi takes oath as Prime Minister of India for the third consecutive term

09 Jun 2024, 07:26 pm


PM Modi was administered the oath of office by President Droupadi Murmu. The PM will lead an NDA coalition government of 15 political parties, including the two major partners- TDP and JD-U. 

President Droupadi Murmu arrives

09 Jun 2024, 07:23 pm

Vice President Jagdeep Dhanakar arrives in Rashtrapati Bhavan for the grand oath-taking ceremony

09 Jun 2024, 07:21 pm

Narendra Modi arrives in Rashtrapati Bhavan

09 Jun 2024, 07:16 pm

PM Modi arrives for swearing-in

09 Jun 2024, 07:15 pm

72 ministers are expected to take oath today

09 Jun 2024, 07:08 pm

Mandi MP and Bollywood star Kangana Ranaut arrives for the swearing-in

09 Jun 2024, 06:54 pm

Sheikh Hasina arrives in Rashtrapati Bhavan

09 Jun 2024, 06:52 pm


Large number of Bollywood stars, politicians and industrialists have arrived in Rashtrapati Bhavan for evening event

09 Jun 2024, 06:49 pm

Rajinikanth arrives for PM Modi's historic swearing-in ceremony

09 Jun 2024, 06:48 pm

Mukesh Ambani, Gautam Adani in PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony

09 Jun 2024, 06:44 pm

Shah Rukh Khan arrives for PM Modi's swearing-in

09 Jun 2024, 06:43 pm

Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe in India

09 Jun 2024, 06:12 pm

Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe arrived in India to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi.

Bhutan PM Tshering Tobgay to join several neighbouring leaders to attend swearing-in ceremony of Modi

09 Jun 2024, 05:57 pm

PM Pravind Kumar Jugnauth of Mauritius arrives in India for PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony

09 Jun 2024, 05:43 pm

Jugnauth was one of the first foreign leaders to wish Modi after he won the polls.


Several neighbouring leaders, including Maldives President Muizzu, arrive in India

09 Jun 2024, 05:38 pm

Several regional leaders, including Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, arrive in India to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi for third stright term.

He is arriving in India amid the recent diplomatic row between the two countries.

Maldives president Muizzu arrives to a warm welcome in New Delhi to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Modi

09 Jun 2024, 05:30 pm


Ahead of his swearing-in ceremony on Sunday, Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi visited Rajghat, a memorial dedicated to Mahatma Gandhi, to pay his tributes to the Father of the Nation.

09 Jun 2024, 03:57 pm

PM Modi also paid tribute to late prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. 

Image: Narendra Modi X

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge will attend Modi's swearing-in ceremony , TMC will not attend

09 Jun 2024, 03:55 pm

Outgoing Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Roads and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari are likely to retain their portfolios

09 Jun 2024, 03:54 pm

The other elected MPs likely to take oath as ministers are JP Nadda, Piyush Goyal, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Jyotiraditya Scindia. HD Kumaraswamy JD(S) is likely to be a minister. Other potential ministers are Chirag Paswan (LJP), Ram Nath Thakur JD(U), and Jitan Ram Manji (HAM). Jayant Chaudhary (RLD), Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal -Soneylal)), Rammohan Naidu (TDP), and Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani (TDP). Pratap Rao Jadhav of the Shiv Sena is also likely to be a minister.

Former Union Minister Smriti Irani (who lost the election from Amethi), Anurag Thakur, and Narayan Rane will not be part of the cabinet, according to media reports.

All MPs who will be part of the Council of Ministers attended a tea invite at the PM’s residence at 11.30 am.


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.