May 24, 2024 07:45 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Thane fire update: 7 killed, 40 injured in explosion fire at chemical factory | 'Surrender or face my anger': HD Deve Gowda's stern warning to grandson Prajwal Revanna | Over 300 Indians, who were scammed into working as 'cyber slaves' in Cambodia, returns | Massive explosion at a factory in Thane, 20 evacuated | Mamata govt promoting Muslim League's agenda: BJP president JP Nadda after Calcutta HC's 'OBC quota' verdict
Bhabanipur bypoll: All updates
Bengal Politics
(From L to R) Mamata Banerjee, Priyanka Tibrewal and Srijib Biswas

Bhabanipur bypoll: All updates

| @indiablooms | 30 Sep 2021, 11:03 am

All eyes are on West Bengal's Bhabanipur assembly constituency, where elections are held Thursday, as Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Mamata Banerjee will have to win the electoral battle to remain the West Bengal Chief Minister. To challenge Banerjee, the BJP has fielded lawyer Priyanka Tibrewal, the Left has nominated young advocate Srijib Biswas while the Congress decided not to contest in a gesture to the ruling party in a changed political scenario. For all updates, follow India Blooms blog

LIVE Updates

Mamata Banerjee will win bypoll by much bigger margin: Firhad Hakim

30 Sep 2021, 07:00 pm

TMC leader Firhad Hakim said there are a lot of non-existent voters in Bhabanipur. "If we exclude them, the polling percentage crossed 60,” said he.

“The margin of (Mamata Banerjee’s) victory will be very healthy though I can’t exactly tell it at the moment. The margin will be much bigger than the one registered during the assembly elections (in April this year),” he added.

Voter turnout 53.32% till 5 pm

30 Sep 2021, 05:38 pm

The voter turnout in Bhabanipur was recorded 53.32% till 5 pm. 

(Image Credit: UNI)

Abhishek Banerjee casts vote

30 Sep 2021, 05:27 pm

TMC national general secretary and Lok Sabha MP, Abhishek Banerjee, cast his vote at Mitra Institution in Bhabanipur where bypoll is underway.

(Image Credit: Facebook/Abhishek Banerjee)

BJP leader Kalyan Chaubey's car attacked, vandalised

30 Sep 2021, 04:23 pm

BJP leader Kalyan Chaubey's car was allegedly attacked and vandalised outside Dioceson School in Bhabanipur. Choube has acccused the TMC supporters of resorting to the vandalisation. 

"There were no reasons behind the attack. Some people came and attacked the car," he said. 

Voter turnout 48.08% till 3 pm

30 Sep 2021, 04:15 pm

Voter turnout recorded 48.08% till 3 pm. 

Mamata Banerjee casts vote at Mitra Institution in Bhabanipur

30 Sep 2021, 03:25 pm

Asim Bose Ward Co-ordinator, Ward 70, intimidated, threatened & stopped voters from going out to vote at 4, Ray Street (High Rise), alleges BJP

30 Sep 2021, 02:54 pm

Voter turnout 35.97% till 1 pm

30 Sep 2021, 01:40 pm

The voter turnout has been recorded 35.97% till 1 pm. 

TMC sent false voter to Khalsa English High School, alleges BJP

30 Sep 2021, 01:39 pm

The BJP has alleged that the TMC had sent a false voter to Khalsa English High School in Bhabanipur. 

"The TMC is doing all tricks to win. Mamata Banerjee has a political background. Then why is she afraid of such a junior like me?" said Priyanka Tibrewal. 

Priyanka Tibrewal is slowing down booths, alleges TMC

30 Sep 2021, 01:14 pm

The TMC has alleged BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal is slowing down polling booths by roaming around in Bhabanipur with a convoy of 20 cars.

"She is trying to create hindrance along with the central forces who are also facilitating BJP," the TMC alleged. 

Mamata Banerjee to cast vote at 3:15 pm, Abhishek Banerjee at 2 pm

30 Sep 2021, 01:08 pm

TMC candidate Mamata Banerjee will be casting her vote at Mitra Institution at 3:15 pm.

TMC national general secretary, Abhishek Banerjee will cast his vote at around 2 pm. 

Rigging in two schools, alleges BJP

30 Sep 2021, 12:38 pm

The BJP has alleged "massive rigging was going on" at Ramesh Mitra School and Bhawanipur Education Society School. 

Voter turnout 21.73% till 11 am

30 Sep 2021, 12:36 pm

The voter turnout is 21.73% till 11 am. 

Amid lower voter turnout, Firhad Hakim urges people to cast votes

30 Sep 2021, 11:27 am

Appealing to people to cast votes amid lower voter turnout, TMC leader Firhad Hakim tweeted, "Urging everyone from Bhabanipur today to step out and vote for Development, vote for Equality."


BJP preparing base for the defeat, TMC hits back

30 Sep 2021, 11:25 am

TMC leader Firhad Hakim countered Priyanka Tibrewal saying, "In Bhabanipur, people do not tolerate any wrong doing. The BJP is preparing the base for their imminent defeat."

Violation of section 144, alleges Priyanka Tibrewal

30 Sep 2021, 11:17 am

BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal has alleged shops were kept open near polling booths, violating the section 144 which is imposed. 

Lower voter turnout till 9 am

30 Sep 2021, 11:16 am

The voter turnout till 9 am in Bhabanipur was 7.5%. 

Agent removed from booth number 107, alleges BJP

30 Sep 2021, 11:13 am

The BJP has alleged that its agent was threatened and removed from booth number 107. 

Agent removed from booth 83A, alleges BJP

30 Sep 2021, 11:13 am

The BJP has alleged its agent was threatened and removed from booth number 83A. 

Mamata Banerjee to cast vote at 4:30 pm

30 Sep 2021, 11:11 am

Likely every other elections, TMC candidate Mamata Banerjee is expected to cast her vote at Mitra Institution at 4:30 pm. 

Voting underway in Bhabanipur

30 Sep 2021, 11:08 am

The polling in the high-voltage seat is underway. Voting began at 7 am. 

Voting to continue till 6:30 pm

30 Sep 2021, 11:07 am

Complying with every COVID-19 regulation the poll will be on till 6:30 pm.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.