May 26, 2022 22:00 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Link your personal goals with that of country: PM Modi tells Hyderabad B-school graduates | 10 held for stone-pelting outside Yasin Malik's residence | CBI questioning of Karti Chidambaram underway in cash-for-visa scam | Vinai Saxena takes oath as Delhi LG | Bengali actor Bidisha De Majumder found dead at Kolkata apartment, investigation on

TMC earns maiden Asansol win courtesy Shatrughan Sinha, BJP turncoat Babul Supriyo survives CPI-M threat in Ballygunge

Kolkata/IBNS: For the first time in 24 years since its inception, the Trinamool Congress (TMC), spearheaded by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, on Saturday managed to win the Asansol Lok Sabha seat with veteran Bollywood actor Shatrughan Sinha as its candidate.

Public's verdict will be accepted, says Agnimitra Paul after Asansol seat defeat

Asansol: BJP leader Agnimitra Paul on Saturday said people's verdict on the Asansol by-poll result is accepted by her.

Accept people's mandate: BJP's Asansol candidate Agnimitra Paul after massive defeat

Asansol/IBNS: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate from West Bengal's Asansol Lok Sabha constituency, which went to bypolls on Apr 12, has accepted her massive defeat in the hands of veteran Bollywood actor Shatrughan Sinha who had contested on a Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate.

Shubho Nababarsho gift to us: Mamata Banerjee after TMC's win in Bengal bypolls

Kolkata/IBNS: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has termed her party Trinamool Congress (TMC)'s win in two byelections in the state as a Nababarsho or the Bengali New Year "gift" to the outfit's organisation.

Bengal: TMC set to break Asansol jinx with Shatrughan Sinha

Kolkata/IBNS: Battling the 'outsider' jibe, veteran Bollywood actor Shatrughan Sinha is all set to earn Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress (TMC) its maiden win in West Bengal's one of the biggest cities, Asansol, where parliamentary byelection was held on Apr 12.

West Bengal by-polls: Babul Supriyo leading in Ballygunge seat

Kolkata:  Counting of votes for the by-polls to one Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal’s Asansol and a Assembly seat in Ballygunge are currently underway on Saturday.

Bengal: Voting in Asansol and Ballygunge assembly constituencies underway

Kolkata/UNI: By-election to West Bengal's Asansol Parliament seat in Bardhaman district and Ballygunge assembly seat in the city is underway on Tuesday peacefully so far and an estimated 8 percent voters have cast their franchise in the first two hours, official sources said.

Bengal bypolls: Mithun Chakraborty urges Asansol people to vote in favour of BJP candidate Agnimitra Paul

Kolkata/IBNS: Veteran actor Mithun Chakraborty, who had joined the saffron camp ahead of 2021 West Bengal assembly elections, on Saturday urged people in Asansol to vote in favour of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Agnimitra Paul in the upcoming byelections to the seat.

Bengal bypolls: CPI-M fields Naseeruddin Shah's niece Saira Shah Halim from Ballygunge constituency

Kolkata/IBNS: The Left Front has fielded veteran Indian actor Naseeruddin Shah's niece Saira Shah Halim as the Communist Party of India-Marxist or CPI-M candidate for the upcoming bypolls in the Ballygunge assembly constituency of West Bengal.

WB Bypolls: TMC fields former BJP heavyweights Shatrughan Sinha from Asansol LS seat, Babul Supriyo from Ballygunge assembly segment

Kolkata: The Trinamool Congress on Sunday announced the names of erstwhile BJP leaders Shatrughan Sinha and Babul Supriyo as candidates for bypolls to Asansol Lok Sabha seat and Ballygunge assembly seat respectively.

EC announces bypoll dates to Asansol LS seat vacated by Babul Supriyo, 4 assembly constituencies on Apr 12

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India Saturday announced the schedule of by-elections to one parliamentary constituency in West Bengal and four assembly constituencies in Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Maharashtra, and West Bengal.

West Bengal: TMC set to sweep four civic polls; BJP, Left lose more grounds

Kolkata/IBNS: Further consolidating its hold in West Bengal, the state's ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) is set for a sweeping victory in four municipal elections, which were held in Asansol, Bidhannagar, Chandernagore and Siliguri late last week, as the results are coming out on Monday. 

PM Modi slams Mamata's audio-tape conversation saying 'Didi's 'protests crossed dangerous limit of vengeance'

Asansol/UNI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday slammed TMC supremo Mamata Banejree's leaked audio-tape conversations, in which she allegedly had planned to take out rally with dead bodies of Sitalkuchi, and said her politics was not limited to just "protests, but it has crossed a dangerous limit of vengeance".

Bengal: Will try to ensure that no Trinamool leader comes to BJP, says Asansol MP Babul Supriyo

Kolkata/IBNS: Asansol Lok Sabha MP from West Bengal, Babul Supriyo, on Thursday said he would ensure that no Trinamool Congress leader from his constituency enters into the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), in a reaction to the rumours that his arch-rival and former ruling party member Jitendra Tiwari might join the saffron camp.

Ahead of meeting with Mamata, rebel Trinamool MLA Jitendra Tiwari resigns as AMC chairman

Kolkata/IBNS: A day ahead of his scheduled meeting with his party supremo Mamata Banerjee, rebel Trinamool Congress MLA Jitendra Tiwari on Thursday resigned as the chairman of the board of administrators of Asansol Municipal Corporation, media reports said.