May 22, 2024 14:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Supreme Court rejects batch of pleas seeking review of Article 370 verdict | Pune Porsche crash: 'How can juvenile board give such order', asks Devendra Fadnavis promising strict action | IndiGo plane returns to airport after passenger found standing on overbooked Varanasi flight | Delhi High Court denies bail to Manish Sisodia in all cases linked to alleged excise scam | Police making 'watertight case' against Pune teen over Porsche accident that killed 2
Bengal bypolls: CPI-M fields Naseeruddin Shah's niece Saira Shah Halim from Ballygunge constituency
Bengal Bypolls
Image Credit: Twitter/Saira Shah Halim

Bengal bypolls: CPI-M fields Naseeruddin Shah's niece Saira Shah Halim from Ballygunge constituency

| @indiablooms | 17 Mar 2022, 11:09 am

Kolkata/IBNS: The Left Front has fielded veteran Indian actor Naseeruddin Shah's niece Saira Shah Halim as the Communist Party of India-Marxist or CPI-M candidate for the upcoming bypolls in the Ballygunge assembly constituency of West Bengal.

Saira, who is the daughter-in-law of late Left leader Hashim Abdul Halim, will take on ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC)'s candidate in the seat, Babul Supriyo, a former Union Minister in the Narendra Modi government.

The bypolls in the seat became necessitated after it fell vacant due to the demise of TMC veteran Subrata Mukherjee last year.

In 2011, Saira's husband and CPI-M leader Fuad Halim had unsuccessfully contested from the Ballygunge seat in TMC bastion south Kolkata.

The Left has fielded CPI-M candidate Partha Mukherjee as its candidate for another bypolls which will be held in the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency.

The Lok Sabha seat fell vacant last year after Supriyo resigned as the MP after he dumped the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to join West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's TMC.

In Asansol, which is considered a stronghold of the BJP, the TMC has sprung a surprise by fielding actor Shatrughan Sinha in the seat.

The elections in both the seats will be held on Apr 12 and the results will be declared on 16th of the same month.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.