March 30, 2023 15:53 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'Why can't PM be disqualified for Didi O Didi taunts in Bengal?' Abhishek Banerjee tears into Centre | Rahul Gandhi to kick start his election campaign in poll-bound Karnataka from site of 2019 'Modi' remark | Karnataka elections to be held on May 10 | Mamata Banerjee in dharna against Centre, Opposition too on streets in Kolkata | Stop calling yourself crusader of 'anti-corruption': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge to PM Modi

Tripura: CPI-M-Cong alleges TIPRA Motha spoils their prospect, Pradyot feels reverse

Agartala/UNI: When CPI-M and Congress said the victory of BJP in the Tripura assembly election because of TIPRA Motha candidates, the latter party chairman and royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman claimed the reverse saying BJP could have won around 50 seats in the 60 -members assembly if Motha was not in the fray.

Tripura polls by and large peaceful, over 85 percent voters' turnout recorded: EC

Agartala/IBNS/UNI: Over 85 percent of the electorate exercised their democratic rights amid high security as the Tripura Assembly polls remained by and large peaceful barring a few stray incidents of violence on Thursday.

Tripura polls: CPI-M moves ECI against deployment of Assam and Gujarat police in the state

Agartala/UNI: A few hours before the campaign of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in poll-bound Tripura, the opposition CPI-M reached the Chief Election Commissioner of India, accusing the BJP of deploying state police of Gujarat and Assam claiming them as central paramilitary force with an ulterior motive.

Tripura: 7 injured in CPM-BJP clash in poll-bound state

Agartala/UNI: At least seven people were injured in a clash between BJP and CPI-M on Friday in Melaghar under Sonamura constituency of Sepahijala district in poll-bound Tripura.

CPI-M wants voting facilities for TSR jawans posted outside in Tripura poll

Agartala/UNI: CPI-M state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury on Wednesday wrote to the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Tripura Kiran Gitte asking to arrange voting of Tripura State Rifles (TSR) jawans who have been under deputation outside the state.

Tripura CPM calls opposition parties to unite to defeat BJP

Agartala/UNI: The opposition CPM in Tripura called for a united fight to unseat the BJP-led government in upcoming assembly elections while demanding to Director General of Police to take action against SDPO Bishalgarh Rahul Das and Additional SP (Sepahijala) Randhir Debbarma for their inaction to prevent the murder of Shahid Mia (65).

CPI(M) leader and former West Bengal minister Manab Mukherjee dies of cardiac arrest

Kolkata/IBNS: CPI(M) leader and former West Bengal minister Manab Mukherjee died of cardiac arrest on Tuesday afternoon. He was 67.

Tripura: 30 people from BJP, Congress injured in clashes, CPI-M office vandalised

Agartala/UNI: At least 30 people from both ruling BJP and opposition Congress were injured in two separate political clashes in Tripura while a CPI-M party office was vandalised in the last 24 hours, triggering tension across the state.

Congress denies any role in attack on Kerala CPI-M headquarters

Thiruvananthapuram/UNI: The Congress party has no role in the bomb attack on AKG Centre, the CPI-M headquarters in Kerala, Opposition leader in State Assembly VD Satheesan claimed Friday.

Kerala: Bomb hurled at CPI-M headquarters, Congress denies any role

Thiruvananthapuram/UNI: A low intensity bomb was hurled at the AKG Centre, the headquarters of CPI-M in Kerala, at 11:45 pm Thursday.

CPI-M demands removal of RO of Tripura CM’s constituency

Agartala/UNI: The opposition CPI-M Tuesday demanded the change of Returning Officer of Bardowali constituency – SDM Sadar accusing him of bias and directly connected with BJP.

Tripura CPI-M accuses PM Modi of violating election code

Agartala/UNI: A day after Election Commission of India (ECI) served notice to Tripura Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha for his alleged violation of model election code, opposition CPI-M Tuesday lodged complaint with the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) against Prime Minister Narendra Modi for intentionally violating model code of conduct.

TMC earns maiden Asansol win courtesy Shatrughan Sinha, BJP turncoat Babul Supriyo survives CPI-M threat in Ballygunge

Kolkata/IBNS: For the first time in 24 years since its inception, the Trinamool Congress (TMC), spearheaded by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, on Saturday managed to win the Asansol Lok Sabha seat with veteran Bollywood actor Shatrughan Sinha as its candidate.

Bengal: Naseeruddin Shah, Ratna Pathak Shah support CPI-M's Saira Shah Halim who is fighting Babul Supriyo in Ballygunge

Kolkata/IBNS: Veteran Bollywood actor Naseeruddin Shah has come out in support of her niece and CPI-M candidate from West Bengal's Ballygunge constituency, Saira Shah Halim, who is taking on turncoat Babul Supriyo fielded by the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC).

Talk about people's issues, not the Hindu-Muslim discourse: Left's Ballygunge bypoll candidate Saira Shah Halim

Countering the charge that it feeds only an ageing party organisation, the Left, much like the 2021 assembly elections, has fielded Saira Shah Halim as a young CPI-M candidate from Ballygunge seat in south Kolkata. Halim also happens to be the niece of veteran actor Naseeruddin Shah and daughter-in-law of late politician Hashim Abdul Halim. In the middle of her campaigning amid the soaring temperature in Kolkata, Saira, who fought against the CAA-NRC and very recently the hijab ban, exclusively speaks to India Blooms correspondent Souvik Ghosh ahead of the Apr 12 bypoll to the seat, which fell vacant by the demise of Mamata Banerjee's senior colleague Subrata Mukherjee