July 12, 2020 08:52 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Abhishek Bachchan also tests positive for Covid-19 along with father Amitabh Bachchan | Amitabh Bachchan tests positive for Covid-19, hospitalised | Congress appoints Hardik Patel as working president of Gujarat unit | Kerala gold-smuggling case: NIA detains key accused Swapna Suresh, Sandeep Nair | Covid-19: West Bengal reports biggest single-day spike with new 1,344 cases, toll crosses 900
Modi is not my favourite: Amartya Sen

Modi is not my favourite: Amartya Sen

India Blooms News Service | | 30 Apr 2014, 05:10 pm
Bolpur, April 30 (IBNS) Voting in an Indian election after 13 years, Nobel laureate Amartya Sen on Wednesday disapproved of BJP prime ministerial candidate Amartya Sen as the next leader of the nation, holding that a leader with secular credentials and long term view of the economy was required.

Admitting that Modi is popular and especially among the business class, Sen after voting here in Bolpur at his birthplace, said though Modi has popular support he is not his favourite candidate at all.

"I would like someone secular," Sen said.

Sen said the leader guiding India should have a clear notion that the "expansion of economy requires a long term engagement with education and healthcare of the people".

He said only educated labour force can make the economy sustainable.

He said he voted because it is an important election and voting means recognizing the voice of the people.  "Participating in the election is part of the political participation," he said.

He said he could not vote earlier owing to his academic engagements abroad.

He said if there is a possibility for a government by the National Democratic Alliance at the centre, then there is a possibility for other forces too.

West Bengal is undergoing polls in nine constituencies on Wednesday along with other states and UTs as India votes in the seventh phase.

High turnout was witnessed in the polling in Howrah, Uluberia, Serampore, Hooghly, Arambagh, Burdwan (East), Burdwan—Durgapur, Bolpur and Birbhum.