Parliament Election Result
PM Modi spends time with army personnel, says it gives him energy | Major fire in Kolkata's Jeevan Sudha building, firefighting underway | UP CM Adityanath visits Ayodhya temple a day after Diwali spectacle | Lalu’s son suggests masses to burst balloons to fight pollution | US looks at India to help it keep an eye on Pakistan, says US Ambassador to the UN | Afghanistan: Grenade attack kills one in Kabul | Six injured in Pak mortar shelling in LoC | Seven policemen killed in Pakistan blast | Folk Singer Harshita Dahiya killed, no arrest yet | Indonesia Air Asia flight to Bali experiences mid-flight crisis; passengers allege crew behaviour aggravated the panic

Odisha goes to assembly polls with Lok Sabha

India Blooms News Service (IBNS) | 10 Apr 2014

Bhubaneswar, Apr 10 (IBNS) While India witnessed its third phase of parliamentary polls in eleven states, Odisha on Thursday is also voting to elect a new state assembly along with the Lok Sabha seats amid heavy security in the areas affected by Maoist violence.

Balloting is underway in Odisha for 70 assembly seats of the total 147 in this phase along with ten Lok Sabha seats. The seats are in western and southern parts of Odisha.

Till 11 am, the polling was brisk and there was no report of any untoward incident. 

A total of 673 candidates are in the fray for the the 70 Assembly seats going to polls in this phase. Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is seeking re-election from Hinjili constituency in Ganjam district.

The total number of voters in this phase is 1,36,46,989 voters.

Oriya actor Siddhant Mohapatra is a prominent candidate of the ruling BJD in the Lok Sabha polls in the state. He is fighting the polls from Berhampur Lok Sabha seat. 

Hockey star  Dilip Tirkey is also a BJD candidate from Sundergarh Lok Sabha seat. He is, pitted against Hemanand Biswal of Congress and  Jual Oram of BJP. 
In the second phase of polling on April 17, Odisha will vote  11 Lok Sabha and 77 Assembly constituencies in the state is scheduled to be held on April 17.

The total voters in Odisha combining both phases is 2,88,80,850.


Odisha goes to assembly polls with Lok Sabha

India Blooms News Service (IBNS)
Comments (0)

Post your comment:

Related Images

Fri, Oct 20 2017

Fri, Oct 20 2017

Fri, Oct 20 2017
Web Analytics