April 18, 2024 13:32 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
10 dead as car rams into truck on Ahmedabad-Vadodara expressway in Gujarat | US reacts to Modi's 'India will not hesitate to kill terrorists in their homes' remark, encourages talks | Bihar worker shot dead by terrorists in Kashmir's Anantnag | Centre hails former PM Manmohan Singh for liberating economy in 1991 | Mamata Banerjee's TMC manifesto promises 10 free LPG cylinders, 5 kg free ration, no CAA
Kolkata Municipal Corporation Elections Result: Live Updates Kolkata Municipal Corporation Polls

Kolkata Municipal Corporation Elections Result: Live Updates

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 21 Dec 2021, 09:27 am

Counting of votes for the much-awaited Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) elections, which was held on Sunday, is currently underway on Tuesday. The result will decide the fate of candidates who contested in 144 wards in the city. At present, the KMC is ruled by the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC). Election has been delayed by around one and half years due to the COVID-19 pandemic even as the term of the elected members of the KMC ended in May 2020.The key contest in the polls is taking place between TMC, Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and Left Front.

LIVE Updates

Trend at 10.05 am

21 Dec 2021, 10:06 am

TMC ahead/ wins in 116 seats

BJP ahead/ wins in 3 seats

Left Front ahead/wins 3 seats

Congress ahead/wins 2 seats

Others ahead/wins 1 seat

TMC candidate Amit Singh wins 117 no. ward

21 Dec 2021, 10:01 am

This is the victory of development: Abu Mohammed Tarik

21 Dec 2021, 09:52 am

TMC candidate Abu Mohammed Tarik, who won the 140 ward, said his voctory is due to the development work performed by the government in the region.

"This is the victory of the people and development. We have always tried to help people and been beside them when they needed us," he said.

TMC registers first win: Clinches 140 ward

21 Dec 2021, 09:47 am

TMC candidate Abu Mohammed Tarik won the 140 ward. He is the first declared TMC candidate who was declared as a winner as result of the polls, which was held on Sunday, is currently becoming clear with counting of votes taking place since Tuesday morning.

TMC marching ahead

21 Dec 2021, 09:29 am

Trends at 9.30 am showed, the Trinamool Congress is ahead in 93 seats. Initial trend of 102 wards is currently clear. BJP is ahead in four seats. The Congress and Left Front are leading in 2 seats. Others are ahead in one.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.