August 03, 2020 23:31 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Punjab hooch tragedy: Two Congress MPs attack Amarinder Singh govt over deaths | India should be provided another chance to appoint lawyer for Kulbhushan Jadhav: Pak court | West Bengal: COVID-19 death toll surpasses 1700 mark with highest single-day spike of 53 fatalities | West Bengal Govt further changes its bi-weekly lockdown calendar | Soldier goes missing in J&K, army suspects abduction by terrorists

SevenJackpots compare Indias most popular online casino, we love online gambling and are here to help Indian gamblers find the best casino sites with fastest withdrawal options.

India beat New Zealand by eight wickets in Napier; Dhawan shines

India beat New Zealand by eight wickets in Napier; Dhawan shines

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 Jan 2019, 09:27 am

Napier, Jan 23 (IBNS): Riding on a fifty by Shikhar Dhawan, India defeated New Zealand by eight wickets in the first One Day International (ODI) match by Duckworth-Lewis (D/L) method at McLean Park here on Wednesday.

In reply to New Zealand's 157, India scored 156/2 to win the match by D/L method.

The match was interrupted by the sunlight which created problem to view the cricket ball.

Shikhar Dhawan, who was not among runs for some time, remained unbeaten at 75. He was aptly supported by skipper Virat Kohli, who was dismissed at 45.

Winning the toss and batting first, New Zealand were bowled out for 157 in 38 overs.

Skipper Kane Williamson was the top scorer for the Kiwis with his 81-ball 64 runs innings.

Ross Taylor, who was caught and bowled by Yuzvendra Chahal, scored 24.

Kuldeep Yadav had the best bowling figure for India with his 4/39 in 10 overs.

Mohammed Shami, who became the fastest bowler to clinch 100 wickets in ODIs, picked three wickets for 19 runs in six overs.

Apart from Taylor, Chahal picked the wicket of wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham.

Kedar Yadav picked the other New Zealand wicket.

Image: BCCI Twitter