October 31, 2020 10:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi inaugurates development projects in Gujarat's Kevadia | Pakistan: Protesters attempt to storm French Embassy in Islamabad, police fire teargas | Eyes on 2021 poll, BJP chief JP Nadda to visit West Bengal again on Nov 6 | EC revokes Kamal Nath's star campaigner status over 'repeated violations' ahead of MP by-polls | LeT behind killing of 3 Kashmir BJP workers, vehicle used by militants seized: IGP

Second Test: India mauls Sri Lanka by 278 runs to level series 1-1

India Blooms News Service | | 24 Aug 2015, 02:52 pm
Colombo, Aug 24 (IBNS) Offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin propelled India to a thumping 278-run victory over Sri Lanka and level the series on the final day of their second test match in Colombo making Kumar Sangkara's last match look more melancholic.
Sri Lanka, resuming at  their overnight score of 72 for  2 wickets, lost as many as 7 batsmen in the morning session to get bundled out for just  134.
India had scored 393 in the first innings and 325 for eight, declared in the second while the hosts scored 306 in their first session. 

Ravichandran Ashwin, India's premiere spinner,  wreaked havoc as he claimed five scalps giving away only 46 runs. 
Another spinner, Amit Mishra too bowled deadly to work in tandem with Ashwin to claim three wickets for 29 runs and add woes to the 'Lanksans.
However, it was K L Rahul, who was adjudged the Man of the Match for his well composed hundred in the Indian second innings.
For Sri Lanka, Dimuth Karunaratne tried to stem the rot when wickets were falling like ninepins, but  his innings of 46 off 103 deliveries was not enough to deny India a victory.

Angelo Mathews scored 23. It was his dismissal that triggered the Lankan collapse.

Pacers Umesh Yaadav and Ishant Sharma grabbed one wicket each.