May 27, 2024 22:32 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bibhav Kumar's bail, if granted, will be a death threat for me and my family: Swati Maliwal to Delhi HC | Now we don't trust Gujarat govt: High Court raps State and local body over Rajkot gaming zone fire incident | Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal requests Supreme Court to extend his interim relief by 7 days in liquor policy case | Cyclone Remal leaves trail of destruction in West Bengal, claims 2 lives, downpour continues | 'Man-made disaster': Gujarat High Court takes suo motu cognizance of Rajkot gaming zone fire that killed 27 people
Sourav Ganguly, Jhulan Goswami unveil Champions Trophy of Bengal Pro T20 League
Bengal T20
Images by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

Sourav Ganguly, Jhulan Goswami unveil Champions Trophy of Bengal Pro T20 League

| @indiablooms | 04 May 2024, 12:51 am

Kolkata/IBNS: The Champions Trophy of the Bengal Pro T20 League was unveiled on Friday by cricketing legends Sourav Ganguly and Jhulan Goswami iin presence of Snehasish Ganguly, the President of the Cricket Association of Bengal and other members of the CAB.

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly expressed his happiness and extended best wishes to the CAB for the League.

He said, "I wish the CAB Officials and the players great success. This will be a massive game changer for Bengal Cricket. It is long due actually. The players will now not only get an excellent platform to showcase their talent but also to live through the whole experience as they do in an IPL, preparing them for bigger platforms. They must make the most of it and give out their best."

Snehasish Ganguly, President of the Cricket Association of Bengal said: “The entire team of the CAB have been working very hard for this day and we are extremely happy to have all the Franchise Owners on board with us."

Images by Avishek Mitra/IBNSImages by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

"This is bound to help Bengal cricket grow at a much faster pace and in the right direction. It is not only about the Cricketers but about the entire ecosystem. Bengal Pro T20 League will present itself as an excellent opportunity to all stakeholders to become part of this growth story. I really feel happy and proud seeing what we have achieved,” he said.

All the eight Franchise owners of the League were formally inducted and their team names and catchment areas were also revealed.

Kolkata Royal Tigers representing Kolkata & Hooghly has gone to the consortium of Lux Industries and Jalan Builders, GD Sports got Harbour Diamonds which represents both North & South 24 Parganas.

Rashmi Group named their team as Rashmi Medinipur Wizards which will cover the districts of Medinipur and Jhargram whileServoTech Power systems representing the districts of Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, Kalimpong named their teamServotec Siliguri Strikers. Shrachi Sports who got the districts of Bardhaman and Birbhum went with the name of Rarh Tigers for their team.

Rice Adamas Group went with their team’s name as Adamas Howrah Warriors and as the name suggests will cover the catchment areas of Howrah, Purulia and Bankura.

Sona Biscuits of the Sobisco fame got the catchment areas of Dinajpur and Malda and went with the name of Malda Sobisco Smashers while the districts of Murshidabad and Nadia will be represented by Murshidabad King as named by the consortium of Pritam Industries and Jalan Builders.

Images by Avishek Mitra/IBNSImages by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

Jhulan Goswami, former India Captain mentioned, "I am looking forward to the Bengal Pro T20 League. Bengal has been contributing to the Indian women's team on a regular basis. Presently many girls are representing India from Bengal. I am very sure with this League taking place, we will see more players from Bengal representing at the top level very soon. I must congratulate CAB for taking this initiative."

On the occasion, the Marquee Players of each of the Teams were also announced.

Images by Avishek Mitra/IBNSImages by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

Manoj Tiwary &Sukanya Parida would be the Marquee players for Harbour Diamonds, Lux Shyam Kolkata Royal Tigers will have Abhishek Porel & Mita Paul, Adamas Howrah Warriors to have Anustup Majumdar & Dhara Gujjar, Mukesh Kumar & Rishita Basu goes to Malda Sobisco Smashers, Akash Deep & Priyaka Bala will play for Servotec Siliguri Strikers, Rarh Tigers Will have Shahbaz Ahmed and Titas Sadhu as its Marquee player, Rashmi Medinipur Wizards to have Abhimanyu Easwaran& Richa Ghosh and Sudeep Gharami and Deepti Sharma will be playing for Murshidabad Kings.

The inaugural season of Bengal Pro T20 League, the first ever Franchise based State T20 League to have both men’s and women’s League played simultaneously will take place from 11th to 28th June, 2024.

Images by Avishek Mitra/IBNSImages by Avishek Mitra/IBNS

All men’s matches to be played at the historic Eden Gardens and all women’s matches at the BCCI approved Jadavpur University, Salt Lake Campus ground with each having 31 matches each.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.