July 19, 2024 19:36 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
NEET-UG 2024 retest to be held only if sanctity is lost due to paperleak on large scale: Supreme Court | Avoid travel and minimize movement: India's advisory to its nationals in Bangladesh amid Jatrabari violence | No systemic failure: NTA to Supreme Court on NEET-UG 2024 paper leak | Controversial IAS officer Puja Khedkar's mother Manorama Khedkar detained | US President Joe Biden tests Covid-19 positive with mild symptoms
RS polls: 6 candidates from Tamil Nadu, including P Chidambaram, to get elected unopposed
RS Polls
Image credit: INC Twitter

RS polls: 6 candidates from Tamil Nadu, including P Chidambaram, to get elected unopposed

| @indiablooms | 01 Jun 2022, 07:49 pm

Chennai/UNI: All six candidates, including senior Congress leader P Chidambaram, three from the ruling DMK and two from the opposition AIADMK, will be declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu on June 3.

A total of 13 candidates, including seven independents, have filed their nomination papers for the June 10 polls.

As the filing of nominations for the elections to fill up six seats from the state ended Tuesday, the papers were taken up for scrutiny today.

During scrutiny, the nomination papers of six official candidates, including Chidambaram, R.Girirajan, S.Shanmugasundaram and KRN Rajesh Kumar (DMK) and former Law Minister C.Ve.Shanmugam and R.Dharmar (both AIADMK) were found in order.

The nominations of seven independents were rejected as they did not have the support of any MLAs, Returning Officer and Assembly Secretary K.Srinivasan said here on Wednesday.

Since there were only six candidates for the six seats, all of them will be declared elected unopposed to the Upper House of Parliament on June 3, the last date for withdrawals.

Rajesh Kumar will be elected for the second successive term.

Of the total six seats that would fall vacant on June 29, the DMK chose to contest three seats and allotted one to its ally, Congress, while the AIADMK could win the remaining two seats easily.

The DMK and its allies, which has a combined strength of 159 MLAs, including 18 from Congress, in the 234-member Assembly, can easily win four seats and the AIADMK Front (75 MLAs) has enough strength to win the remaining two seats.

The term of office of six members --three each from the DMK and the AIADMK--elected from Tamil Nadu is due to expire on June 29.

AIADMK's former allies, the PMK and the BJP, which have five and four MLAs respectively, have announced their support to the AIADMK for the RS polls.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.