May 20, 2024 20:40 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
CCTV footage shows Pune teen drinking at bar before Porsche accident that killed 2 | I don't speak without evidence: Mamata repeats her attack on Kartik Maharaj after Modi slams Bengal CM | PM Modi mourns Iran President Ebrahim Raisi's death, says 'His contribution to strengthening India-Iran bilateral relationship will be remembered' | Iran's President Ebrahim Raisi dies in helicopter crash: State Media | Helicopter carrying Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi involved in accid'nt: Reports
Slain former Pakistan PM Benazir Bhutto's daughter Aseefa Bhutto Zardari takes oath as MP
Aseefa Bhutto Zardari
Photo Courtesy: PPP Official Instagram page

Slain former Pakistan PM Benazir Bhutto's daughter Aseefa Bhutto Zardari takes oath as MP

| @indiablooms | 16 Apr 2024, 02:48 pm

Pakistan's slain former prime minister Benazir Bhutto's daughter Aseefa Bhutto Zardari on Monday (April 15, 2024) took oath as a Member of the National Assembly (MNA).

Her oath to office was administered by Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

The unopposed election of Pakistan People’s Party’s Aseefa Bhutto Zardari from NA-207 of Nawabshah has been challenged in the Sindh High Court (SHC), reported Daily Times.

In the petition in the high court, PTI leader Mustafa Rind claimed his nomination papers were rejected after he was abducted.

He pleaded that the notification of Aseefa Bhutto’s uncontested election should be declared as void adding that the by election on vacant seats of the National Assembly will be held on April 21, the newspaper reported.

The Election Commission of Pakistan on March 29 declared that Aseefa Bhutto has returned unopposed as MNA from NA-207 as the remaining three candidates withdrew the nomination papers.

Which seat did Aseefa win?

Aseefa made her way to the National Assembly by winning the Shaheed Benazirabad (Nawabshah) seat.

The seat had fallen vacant after her father Asif Ali Zardari was elected as 14th President of Pakistan.

Who was Benazir Bhutto?

Aseefa's mother  Benazir Bhutto was a Pakistani politician and stateswoman who served as the 11th and 13th prime minister of Pakistan from 1988 to 1990 and again from 1993 to 1996.

She chaired or co-chaired the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) from the early 1980s until her assassination in 2007.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.