December 02, 2022 18:07 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Will continue fight for J&K’s Statehood, land, job rights: Ghulam Nabi Azad | Indian airports launch facial recognition technology for seamless passenger entry | AIUMB Prez Syed Ashraf Kichauchawi, General Secy Syed Salman Chishty meet NSA Ajit Doval | 'Rahul Gandhi looks like Saddam Hussein': Himanta Biswa Sarma | 'By getting popularity, there will be few troubles': Actor Vijay Deverakonda after 9 hrs ED questioning
US, Australia ban entry to travellers from South Africa amid Covid-19 variant 'Omicron' scare US | Australia travel ban
Image credit: Pixabay

US, Australia ban entry to travellers from South Africa amid Covid-19 variant 'Omicron' scare

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 27 Nov 2021, 11:05 am

Washington/UNI: The United States and  Australia have issued official orders restricting travel from South Africa amid the growing concerns of the new Covid-19 Omicron variant.

US President Joe Biden has signed the official proclamation restricting travel from southern Africa that will take effect at 12:01 am on Monday, CNN reported.

According to the proclamation, the order is applicable to those who have been "“physically present” in Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe in 14 days ahead of their entry into the US.

Meanwhile, Australia has banned entry of foreign citizens who travelled to nine South African countries in the previous 14 days.

The nine countries include South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi and Mozambique, CNN quoted Australian Health Minister Greg Hunt as saying at a press conference on Saturday.

He further said the Australians will be allowed to enter the country but will have to be under quarantine for 14 days on arrival.

The other countries restricting foreign citizens from South Africa include Brazil.

On Friday, the World Health Organisation (WHO) had designated Omicron, identified as coronavirus variant B.1.1.529, as a variant of concern.

Besides South Africa, the newly identified variant has been detected in Botswana, Hong Kong and Belgium.