May 23, 2024 06:15 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bangladesh MP killed in Kolkata, joint investigation launched | Pune teen who killed 2 techies after crashing his Porsche sent to remand home till June 5 | 'There are two versions, I expect fair probe': Arvind Kejriwal's first remarks on Swati Maliwal assault row | 'I will not accept': Mamata Banerjee on Calcutta HC scrapping OBC certificates issued in Bengal after 2010 | EC slams BJP, Congress over poll speeches; says 'electoral democracy should not be weakened'
Footballer Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 Ballon d'Or, the Golden Ball

Footballer Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 Ballon d'Or, the Golden Ball

| | 13 Dec 2016, 01:47 pm

Paris, Dec 13 (IBNS): Real Madrid forward, Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal, won one of European Club Football's prestigious awards, the Ballon d’Or 2016, or the Golden Ball for 2016, his fourth, beating FC Barcelona's Lionel Messi of Spain, reported the media on Tuesday.

live roulette online in India

Tweeted Ronaldo, "So happy and glad to win. Thanks Real Madrid and Portugal National team.amazing year."

French forward Antoine Griezmann of Atletico Madrid finished third in the vote.

The original Ballon d'Or, also known as the European Footballer of the Year award, had been awarded by the French publication France Football since 1956.

The FIFA World Player of the Year award was presented by FIFA, the sport's governing body, since 1991.

Between 2010 and 2015, the FIFA Ballon d'Or was a merger between France Football's Ballon d'Or and the FIFA World Player of the Year award and presented to the world's best men's player as an annual association football award.

From 2016, France Football and FIFA have again decided to go their separate ways.

For 2016, France Football reintroduced their Ballon d'Or award and FIFA created the The Best FIFA Football Awards.

Messi of Barcelona leads the total tally, having won the award five times, combining the FIFA Ballon d'Or (years 2010-15) and FIFA World Player of the Year awards (1991 to 2009).

Ronaldo has won the Ballon d'Or in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016.

Fifa will hand out its own prize for the world's best men's player, along with the best women's player and team of the year, at the Best Fifa Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on Jan 9, reported the BBC..

Image: Cristiano Ronaldo Twitter

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.