May 21, 2024 21:22 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Police making 'watertight case' against Pune teen over Porsche accident that killed 2 | EC bars BJP's Tamluk candidate Abhijit Ganguly from campaigning for 24 hours over objectionable remarks against Mamata Banerjee | Afraid of a riot: Mithun Chakraborty on Mamata Banerjee's attack on Kartik Maharaj | Pune Porsche accident: Minor Vedant Agarwal gets bail after writing 300-word essay | INDIA alliance set to win over 300 seats in Lok Sabha elections: Arvind Kejriwal
KL Rahul misses spot in India's T20 World Cup squad, Rishabh Pant returns
Photo Courtesy: Rohit Sharma X page

KL Rahul misses spot in India's T20 World Cup squad, Rishabh Pant returns

| @indiablooms | 30 Apr 2024, 04:17 pm

Yuzvendra Chahal made a comeback while KL Rahul missed his ticket for West Indies and Australia as India announced the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side in its campaign to win the T20 title that the Men In Blue last won in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

The showpiece event was held for the first time that year in South Africa.

Hardik Pandya has been named his deputy.

India's star performer and former captain Virat Kohli was included in the squad and he is expected to play the pivotal role in the top order.

Yashasvi Jaiswal found a place in the squad while Shivam Dube was added following his brilliant show in the IPL 2024 so far.

The pace department will be led by Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh.

Rishabh Pant, who was out of the Indian squad following car mishap, made a return to the T20 World Cup squad with another wicket-keeper Sanju Samson.

Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja are the two all-rounders named in the team.

India's campaign will begin against Ireland on June 5.

In New York, India and Pakistan will fight for glory on June 9.

This is the first time the USA will be hosting T20 World Cup matches.

India will then play USA and Canada on June 12 and 15 respectively.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.