May 20, 2024 20:57 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
CCTV footage shows Pune teen drinking at bar before Porsche accident that killed 2 | I don't speak without evidence: Mamata repeats her attack on Kartik Maharaj after Modi slams Bengal CM | PM Modi mourns Iran President Ebrahim Raisi's death, says 'His contribution to strengthening India-Iran bilateral relationship will be remembered' | Iran's President Ebrahim Raisi dies in helicopter crash: State Media | Helicopter carrying Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi involved in accid'nt: Reports
All India Bridge Championship: Dhampur Sugar Mills from Delhi leads field after 5th round in team event
Bridge Championship

All India Bridge Championship: Dhampur Sugar Mills from Delhi leads field after 5th round in team event

| @indiablooms | 11 Apr 2024, 08:04 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Strong contender Dhampur Sugar Mills represented by veteran Ashok Kumar Goel,  Vinay Desai, Swarnendu Banerjee, Sunit Choksi, Raju Tolani and Ajay Khare, all internationals led the field with 81.45 Victory Points (VPs) at the end of the fifth round of team events on the inaugural day of the 7th All India Shree Cement Bridge Championship at Biswa Bangla Convention Centre in Kolkata on Thursday.

Dhampur was closely followed by Shree Cement (78.77 VPs), and teams named Rana (75.60 VPs), Arun Jain (75.06 VPs), Hemant Jalan (71.31 VPs) and Pradeep (70.40 VPs).

After a luke worm start Dhampur players improved their performance in the later rounds and took the top spot at the end of the fifth round of the Swiss league.

Three more round would be played after which top 16 teams will move to the pre-quarter finals which would be contested in knock-out basis.

Earlier in the morning, the championship, being organised by Corporate Bridge association of India, was inaugurated by H M Bangur, Chairman of Shree Cement -the title sponsor of the tournament in presence of Bridge Federation of India (BFI) President Prasad Keni, BFI Secretary Debasish Ray and West Bengal Bridge Association President Vibhas Todi and all the participating players who have gathered from different parts of the country.


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.