June 23, 2024 13:13 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Shooting at a grocery store in USA leaves three people dead, 10 hurt | Sheikh Hasina, Narendra Modi engage in bilateral talks | As Chandrababu Naidu's new govt demolishes YSRCP office citing illegality, Jagan Reddy cries 'vendetta politics' | Centre notifies stringent anti-paper leak law amid exam mess, accused to face jail term, fine up to a crore | Maharashtra Congress chief Nana Patole alleges cracks on Atal Setu, BJP hits back
Australian opener David Warner to miss upcoming T20 series against India
David Warner
Photo Courtesy: UNI

Australian opener David Warner to miss upcoming T20 series against India

| @indiablooms | 21 Nov 2023, 05:11 pm

Australia have suffered a blow ahead of their T20I series against India, with news that experienced opener David Warner will return home and miss the five-game series.

Warner played a pivotal part in helping Australia to a sixth ICC Men's Cricket World Cup title earlier this month. The left-hander scored 535 runs at an average of 48.63 for Pat Cummins’ side.

The veteran was expected to stay in the sub-continent and take part in the T20I series against India, but has instead opted to head home.

"Selectors decided Warner would return home on the back of a successful yet demanding World Cup campaign," Cricket Australia said via a statement.

Warner's place in Australia's squad will be taken by emerging all-rounder Aaron Hardie, with Matthew Wade stepping up to take the captaincy reins in the absence of Cummins, an ICC report said.

Seven members of Australia's World Cup winning squad will take part in the T20I series, with Sean Abbott, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa all staying

in India alongside reserve spinner Tanveer Sangha.

The first T20I of the five-game series commences in Vishakhapatnam on Thursday.

Australia T20 squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Series schedule:

First T20I: November 23, Vishakhapatnam

Second T20I: November 26, Thiruvananthapuram

Third T20I: November 28, Guwahati

Fourth T20I: December 1, Raipur

Fifth T20I: December 3, Bengaluru.

(With UNI inputs)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.