April 21, 2024 04:32 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Mamata Banerjee on DD News' new logo colour: 'Shocked at the sudden saffronisation' | Love jihad is spreading: Karnataka Congress corporator, whose daughter was killed, contradicts Siddaramaiah's claims | Karnataka Congress corporator's daughter killed; CM Siddaramaiah cites 'personal reasons' | Elon Musk postpones upcoming visit to India: Reports | 'Had mangoes only three thrice, sweets 6 times in jail': Arvind Kejriwal counters ED claims in court
Argentinian World Cup hero Lionel Messi wins record 8th Ballon d'Or Lionel Messi
Photo Courtesy: Xinhua/UNI

Argentinian World Cup hero Lionel Messi wins record 8th Ballon d'Or

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 31 Oct 2023, 04:13 pm

Lionel Messi won his record-extending eighth Ballon d'Or here, while Spain's Aitana Bonmati claimed the women's award.

The Argentine soccer great won the award for his exceptional performance at the Qatar World Cup last year when he led Argentina to the trophy with seven goals and was named the best player of the tournament.

Messi has won the most significant individual football award in the years of 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021, and now 2023.

"This is a gift to the whole Argentina team for what we achieved," said Messi, paying tribute to his teammates. "Becoming world champion was the title we were missing. I'd like to thank everyone
who helped make Argentina the world champion team."

He also dedicated the trophy to legendary Argentine footballer Diego Maradona, who passed away in 2020 and would have celebrated his 63rd birthday on Monday.

"Happy birthday Diego. This is for you too," he said.

Norwegian forward Erling Haaland came second for winning the UEFA Champions League, Premier League, and FA Cup title with Manchester City, while Qatar World Cup golden boot winner Kylian Mbappe was third.

Bonmati lifted the women's Ballon d'Or, ahead of Australia's Sam Kerr and compatriot Salma Paralluelo, for winning Spain's first Women's World Cup title in August.

In other awards, England's Jude Bellingham was named the best under-21 player, while Haaland
won the prize for the best striker of the year.

Messi's national team teammate Emiliano Martinez won the Lev Yashin Award for best goalkeeper.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.