May 18, 2024 07:22 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Congress LS candidate Kanhaiya Kumar assaulted during election campaign in Delhi | Taj Mahal gets competition as new white marble wonder Soami Bagh opens in Agra | Swati Maliwal taken to Kejriwal home as cops probe assault charge, AAP faces heat | 'He slapped me 7-8 times.. brutally dragged me, pulled my shirt up': Swati Maliwal in complaint against Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar | Arvind Kejriwal should apologise: Nirmala Sitharaman slams Delhi CM for his silence over Maliwal case
Indian Football Awards 2023 held in Sikkim: Lallianzuala Chhangte and Greg Stewart among winners Football
Image Credit: Unsplash

Indian Football Awards 2023 held in Sikkim: Lallianzuala Chhangte and Greg Stewart among winners

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 May 2023, 10:45 pm

Gangtok/IBNS: The Indian Football Awards 2023, organized by the Football Players' Association of India (FPAI), took place at Gangtok's Paljor Stadium in Sikkim on Saturday.

The event, jointly hosted by Football Development Private Limited (FDPL) and Football Players' Association of Sikkim (FPAS), witnessed the gathering of around 400 registered players who participated in the voting process., reported EastMojo.

Mumbai City FC's Lallianzuala Chhangte and Greg Stewart were honored with the titles of 'Indian Player of the Year' and 'Foreign Player of the Year' respectively.

Des Buckingham, the coach of Mumbai City FC, was recognized as the 'Coach of the Year,' while Siva Shakti Narayan from Bengaluru FC secured the accolade for the 'Youngest Player of the Year.'

Distinguished personalities graced the occasion, including Sikkim Football Association president Menla Ethenpa, former Indian team captains Baichung Bhutia and Renedy Singh, who is also the president of FPAI.

Sikkim had the privilege of hosting the FPAI Indian Football Awards for the second time, with the first edition taking place in 2019.

One of the highlights of the event was an exhibition match, where FPAI XI triumphed over Sikkim Stars with a score of 2-0.

FPAI XI comprised former Indian internationals and players from the Indian Super League (ISL), including notable names such as Arindam Bhattacharya Lallianzuala Chhangte, Jackichand Singh, Siva Shakti Narayan, Salam Ranjan Singh, Ankit Mukherjee, Gurjinder Singh, and more.

Representing Sikkim Stars were local footballers who play for professional clubs both within and outside the state.

The team featured ISL players Phurba Lachenpa and Nim Dorjee Tamang, as well as selected players from the recently concluded Sikkim Premier League.

FDPL and FPAS jointly honored present and former Sikkimese footballers, along with senior women's national team coach Suren Chettri.

The felicitated individuals included Kunzang Lachungpa, Nim Dorjee Tamang, Phurba Lachenpa, Biswa Darjee, Evan Thapa, Asish Chettri, Bijendra Rai, Lako Phuti Bhutia, Asish Pradhan, Asish Rai, Kushang Subba, Komal Thatal, Namgyal Bhutia, Novin Gurung, Uttam Rai, Suraj Rawat, Dilliram Sanyasi, and Muskan Subba.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.