August 15, 2022 15:55 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi renews call to fight corruption, familism on 75th Independence Year amid ED heat on Opposition | India will fuel Techade: PM Modi on I-Day | PM Modi pushes for renewables, natural farming in I-Day speech | Five-year-old kids refuse to play with imported toys anymore: PM Modi on Make-In-India in I-Day address | India 'mother of democracy', diversity our strength: PM Modi in I-Day speech
Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets to clinch maiden T20 World Cup Australia Win T20 World Cup
Image credit: UNI

Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets to clinch maiden T20 World Cup

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 14 Nov 2021, 11:18 pm

Dubai: Australia completely dominated the proceedings as riding on Mitchell Marsh's unbeaten 77, Aaron Finch and his men beat New Zealand to win their maiden T20 World Cup here on Sunday.

After restricting New Zealand to 172 runs for the loss of four wickets, Australian batsmen played sensibly to reach 173 runs for the loss of two wickets with seven balls to spare.

Marsh and Glenn Maxwell (28*) played sensibly to ensure an eight wickets victory for Australia at the end of an eventful tournament in the Middle East.

Marsh dominated the proceedings as he smashed six boundaries and four sixes in the 50-ball knock.

Maxwell added four boundaries and a six to create trouble for the Kiwis who failed to pick up wickets at the needed moments of the match, leaving them struggling.

Davind Warner contributed 53 runs at the top of the order to set Australia towards the path of victory.

Trent Boult remained the only successful bowler for New Zealand as he picked up two wickets by giving away just 18 runs in his quota of four overs.

Earlier, Kane Williamson's classy half century helped New Zealand post 172 for 4 against Australia in the final of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup.

He scored 85 runs.

(Image credit: UNI)