August 16, 2022 13:07 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Policemen, civilian injured in two separate grenade attacks in Kashmir | Nitish Kumar to expand Cabinet tomorrow | Prohibitory orders in Karnataka's Shivamogga after clashes over Savarkar poster | PM Modi renews call to fight corruption, familism on 75th Independence Year amid ED heat on Opposition | India will fuel Techade: PM Modi on I-Day
Rohit Sharma Indian skipper for T20 series against New Zealand; Kohli, Bumrah rested, Hardik dropped INDvNZ
Image Credit: Twitter/BCCI

Rohit Sharma Indian skipper for T20 series against New Zealand; Kohli, Bumrah rested, Hardik dropped

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 10 Nov 2021, 11:29 am

Mumbai/IBNS: Rohit Sharma will be succeeding Virat Kohli as the Indian T20 captain as he has been named as the skipper of the side in the upcoming three-match series against New Zealand to be played between Nov 17 and 21.

KL Rahul has been named as Sharma's deputy by the Indian cricket board (BCCI).

The selectors, who are looking for a revamp of the team following the debacle in the T20 World Cup, rested Kohli and frontline bowler Jasprit Bumrah for the series considering their workload.

Injury-hit allrounder Hardik Pandya has been dropped from the squad.

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul | Image Credit: Twitter/BCCIRohit Sharma and KL Rahul | Image Credit: Twitter/BCCI

Indian Premier League (IPL) highest run getter Ruturaj Gaikwad and highest wicket-taker Harshal Patel, allrounder Venkatesh Iyer have been picked in the revamped squad.

While Shreyas Iyer has been picked, Ishan Kishan has been retained as an alternate wicketkeeper of Rishabh Pant.

The pace bowling attack will be led by Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel and Mohammed Siraj.

The spin bowling department will be managed by veteran Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel besides allrounder Iyer.

Not just India are getting a new captain, the series will mark the debut of former Indian skipper Rahul Dravid as the head coach of the men's team.

The three matches will be played in Jaipur, Ranchi and Kolkata on Nov 17, 19 and 21.