October 17, 2021 00:36 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Rahul Dravid set to become Team India coach after T20 World Cup: Reports | Sonia Gandhi slams govt over J&K civilian killings, questions silence on China | I am a full time, hands-on Congress president: Sonia Gandhi | Puducherry extends anti-COVID-19 restrictions till Oct 31 | India records 15,981 new COVID-19 cases in past 24 hours
Shardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India's T20 WC squad Shardul Thakur
Image credit: Shardul Thakur Instagram

Shardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India's T20 WC squad

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 13 Oct 2021, 11:05 pm

New Delhi/UNI: Shardul Thakur replaced all-rounder Axar Patel in team India's T20 World Cup squad, BCCI said on Wednesday.

Bowling all-rounder Patel, who was a part of the 15-member squad, now will be on the list of standby players.

"The All-India Senior Selection Committee after a discussion with the team management has added Shardul Thakur to the main squad. All-rounder Axar Patel, who was part of the 15-member squad will now be on the list of stand-by players," BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

The selectors reportedly added Thakur to the squad to have an extra pacer in the team with the uncertainty over Hardik Pandya's bowling.

Patel will only get a look-in in the team if Ravindra Jadeja or R Ashwin -- two like-for-like spin bowling all-rounders -- is injured.

The T20 World Cup is scheduled to be played between October 17 and November 14 in Oman and UAE.

India will begin their campaign as the host of the World Cup against England in the Middle-East on October 18.

India's revised squad for T20 WC: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel
The following cricketers will also join the Indian team bubble in Dubai for training: Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K. Gowtham