June 21, 2024 06:35 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Pune woman hangs from building edge holding a man's hand just for an Instagram reel. Read here | BJP's Bhartruhari Mahtab appointed Pro Tem Speaker, Congress calls it 'first mistake' | Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal gets bail in liquor policy case | CBI probe into UGC-NET 2024 has been ordered, says Education Ministry a day after cancelling exam | Darshan Thoogudeepa involved murder case: Renukaswamy's testicles were ruptured, face was half-eaten by dogs
Don't complain if you don't vote: Manoj Bajpayee casting his mandate
Elections '24
Photo courtesy: Screenshot grab from X video

Don't complain if you don't vote: Manoj Bajpayee casting his mandate

| @indiablooms | 20 May 2024, 01:04 pm

Mumbai/IBNS: Bollywood actor Manoj Bajpayee has clearly stated people have no right to complain if they don't exercise their voting rights as he cast his mandate in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections on Monday.

Bajpayee says, "Everyone has the right to cast their mandates because this opportunity comes once in five years. If people don't vote, they will have no right to complain."

Earlier in the day, veteran actor Paresh Rawal also echoed the same thought and he even went to the extent of suggesting some kind of punishment for people who don't vote.

He said, "People, who don't vote, should be held responsible when they accuse the government of lackings. The government can't be held responsible.

"People, who don't vote, should be punished in a way, either by imposing an increased tax on them or something else."

Voting is currently underway in 49 seats across six states and two Union Territories in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha polls on Monday.

The voting process started at 7 am.

Despite the small number of seats going for polls in this phase, the fates of high-profile leaders like  Union Minister Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, and Piyush Goyal, former Congress president Rahul Gandhi and former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah.

In this phase, over 8.95 crore voters are eligible to express their democratic choice across 94,732 polling stations in the country.

States/UTs going for polls in phase-5 are - Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.