June 15, 2024 03:05 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Delhi LG approves prosecution of Arundhati Roy, Sheikh Showkat Hussain in 2010 provocative speech case | BS Yediyurappa, accused of harassing minor, can't be arrested till next hearing: Karnataka HC | PM Modi meets Meloni, Macron, Zelenskyy and Pope as part of mega outreach program in Italy | NEET-UG 2024: Supreme Court issues notice to Centre, NTA on pleas seeking CBI probe into paper leak | BJP worshipped Lord Ram but stopped at 241 due to arrogance, says RSS leader days after Mohan Bhagwat's veiled attack on Modi's party
'People placed their faith in NDA for a third consecutive time': PM Modi
Photo Courtesy: PIB

'People placed their faith in NDA for a third consecutive time': PM Modi

| @indiablooms | 04 Jun 2024, 07:56 pm

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi Tuesday thanked the people of India for giving the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) a "historic" third consecutive win.

"People have placed their faith in NDA, for a third consecutive time! This is a historical feat in India's history," PM Modi said in a post on X.

"I bow to the Janata Janardan for this affection and assure them that we will continue the good work done in the last decade to keep fulfilling the aspirations of people," said PM Modi, who won from Varanasi seat by a margin of 1.5 lakh votes.

"I also salute all our Karyakartas for their hard work. Words will never do justice to their exceptional efforts," PM Modi said.

As per the last received trends, NDA crossed the halfway mark and won 290 seats.

The Opposition bloc INDIA also made a comeback this time, winning 234 seats in the Lok Sabha - a huge improvement since 2019.

In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP is losing to Samajwadi Party-Congress combine which is leading in 42 seats as opposed to BJP's 35.

Interestingly, Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 seats, played a significant role in Modi's wins in 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who quite unexpectedly trailed in a particular round, has won the Varanasi seat with a significant less margin than 2019.

Modi's colleague in the government, Smriti Irani, who defeated Congress leader Rahul Gandhi from Amethi in 2019, was trailing by over 1 lakhs votes in the seat.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.