May 19, 2024 04:32 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Arvind Kejriwal to march with AAP leaders to BJP HQs tomorrow with an 'arrest' dare | Adhir Chowdhury won't decide, he will be axed if he doesn't...': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on alliance with Mamata Banerjee | Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal | Swati Maliwal assault case: New video shows AAP MP escorted out of Arvind Kejriwal's home
Election Commission asks X to remove 'derogatory' post by Karnataka BJP LS polls
Photo courtesy: IBNS File

Election Commission asks X to remove 'derogatory' post by Karnataka BJP

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 07 May 2024, 08:58 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: The Election Commission has ordered microblogging website X to remove an objectionable post by the Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which the party did not remove even after orders from the state chief electoral officer to do so earlier.

A first information report (FIR) has been filed over the objectionable post.

"An FIR has already been registered in the matter... However, the post has not been taken down yet," the Election Commission (EC) said in a statement.

The Congress had registered a complaint to the EC against Karnataka BJP chief BY Vijayendra for posting "derogatory" content having the potential to lead to law and order issues.

The video took a swipe at Congress alleging the Opposition party favours Muslims over backward classes in reservation and fund allocation.

The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee approached the police and EC alleging a violation of the model code of conduct in the video.

In its complaint to the EC, Congress alleged that the BJP wants to "provoke rioting and promote enmity".

The Bengaluru police took cognizance of the petition and filed a case against BJP national president JP Nadda, information technology cell head Amit Malviya, and state president BY Vijayendra.

Voting in the second and last phase of the Lok Sabha elections for 14 seats in Karnataka, which sends 28 MPs to parliament, was held earlier in the day. The rest of the 14 seats voted on April 26. Counting of all phases will be held on June 4.

In the 2019 elections, the BJP almost swept the state by winning 25 out of 28 seats. The Congress and Janata Dal (Secular), who were in coalition in the state government then, won only one seat each.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.