May 19, 2024 20:15 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Helicopter carrying Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi involved in accid'nt: Reports | Arvind Kejriwal to march with AAP leaders to BJP HQs tomorrow with an 'arrest' dare | Adhir Chowdhury won't decide, he will be axed if he doesn't...': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on alliance with Mamata Banerjee | Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal
Lok Sabha Elections 2024: This is how BJP pulled off a miraculous uncontested win in Gujarat's Surat Surat
Photo courtesy: X/@BJP4Gujarat

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: This is how BJP pulled off a miraculous uncontested win in Gujarat's Surat

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 Apr 2024, 12:45 pm

Surat/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has stunned the political landscape in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's homestate Gujarat by pulling off a miraculous uncontested win in the Surat constituency even before a single vote is polled.

BJP's Mukeshkumar Chandrakant Dalal also received the winning certificate on Monday, almost two weeks before the scheduled date for polling (May 7).

As many as 15 candidates had filed nominations from the seat. 8 of 15 candidates including the Independents withdrew their nominations.

The candidates who withdrew their nominations also included two Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidates, a second BJP candidate in the name of Kachhadiya Janakkumar.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) rejected the remaining six nominations including two from Congress and their replacement candidate, paving the way for Dalal to emerge as the winner, citing technical reasons.

The filing of nominations for the upcoming polls went on from April 15 to 19. The last date for withdrawal of nominations was April 22.

Reportedly, this is the first time since 1989, a Lok Sabha candidate in India won unopposed.

In 1989, National Conference candidate Mohammad Shafi Bhat had won from the Srinagar seat unopposed.

While Congress so far has won unopposed on 22 occasions since 1977, this is the first time for the BJP, which is seeking its third straight term, to win an election in this manner.

Gujarat, which has 26 Lok Sabha seats, will go to polls in a single phase on May 7.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.