May 21, 2024 07:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sambit Patra triggers row calling Lord Jagannath 'Modi bhakt', later clarifies as 'slip of tongue' | AAP claims conspiracy after ED says it got illegal foreign funds | Amitabh and Jaya Bachchan walk out hand-in-hand after casting their votes in Lok Sabha polls | 57.5 pct voting recorded in Phase 5 of LS polls; top politicians including Smriti Irani, Rahul Gandhi in fray | CCTV footage shows Pune teen drinking at bar before Porsche accident that killed 2
Russia greets India on Rakesh Sharma's space flight
Rakesh Sharma
Photo Courtesy: @Ru_Cons_Kolkata

Russia greets India on Rakesh Sharma's space flight

| @indiablooms | 04 Apr 2024, 03:05 pm

Russian envoy to India Denis Alipov has wished Indians over the 40th anniversary of the first-ever Indian space flight aboard Soviet Soyuz T-11 spacecraft.

"Warm congratulations to Hero Wing Commander Rakesh Sharma and all Indians on the 40th anniversary of the first ever Indian space flight aboard Soviet Soyuz T-11 spacecraft!" he posted on X.

The iconic space mission had Wing Commander Rakesh Sharma and two Russian cosmonauts on board.

The Russian Embassy in India also remembered the mission and wrote on X: " On April 3, 1984, the Soyuz-U launch vehicle put into orbit the Soyuz T-11 spacecraft under the #Intercosmos program. The crew consisting #Soviet cosmonauts Yuri Malyshev and Gennady Strekalov included #India's first cosmonaut — Rakesh Sharma. "

The Russian Consulate in Kolkata recently inaugurated a photo exhibition at the Russian House (GorkySadan) to mark the 40th anniversary of a space flight by Rakesh Sharma.

The exhibition will be open till April 12.

Gangayaan Mission

Indian PM Narendra Modi visited the Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (VSSC) in Thiruvananthapuram in February where he revealed the names of the four pilots who are undergoing training for the nation's first maiden human space flight mission 'Gaganyaan'.

The astronaut-designates are Group Captain Prashanth Balakrishnan Nair, Group Captain Ajit Krishnan, Group Captain Angad Pratap and Wing Commander Shubhanshu Shukla.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.