May 19, 2024 04:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Arvind Kejriwal to march with AAP leaders to BJP HQs tomorrow with an 'arrest' dare | Adhir Chowdhury won't decide, he will be axed if he doesn't...': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on alliance with Mamata Banerjee | Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal | Swati Maliwal assault case: New video shows AAP MP escorted out of Arvind Kejriwal's home
Odisha: Congress leader Ganeswar Behera quits, likely to join BJD Odisha
Photo courtesy: UNI

Odisha: Congress leader Ganeswar Behera quits, likely to join BJD

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 02 Apr 2024, 01:13 pm

Bhubaneswar/UNI: In a major setback to the Odisha Congress, senior party leader and former minister Ganeswar Behera resigned from the primary membership of the party on Tuesday.

Behera had represented the Pattamundai( SC) Assembly seat twice in the 1985 and 1995 Assembly elections in the state and held the position of minister of state for higher education, food supply, consumer affairs, public grievances, and pensions in the J B Pattnaik government.

In his resignation letter to president Sarat Pattanayak, the Congress leader, who was heading the media cell of the party, said he is resigning from the primary membership of the party.

A powerful leader from coastal Odisha, Behera, said the 2024 Assembly election is most important for his political career, as he is keen to enter the Assembly this time on the advice of his voters.

Behera’s decision to quit the Congress came in the wake of another former Congress MLA, Chiranjib Biswal, quitting the party and joining the BJD.

Sources said Behera is likely to join the BJD soon, and he would be fielded by the BJD to contest the 2024 Assembly elections, possibly from his home constituency or Kendrapara Assembly seat.

Last month, former Congress MLA from Rajnagar Anshuman Mohanty quit the Congress and joined the BJD. He was nominated by the BJD to contest the Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat against the BJP's heavyweight leader, Baijayant Panda.

Congress sitting MLA from Khariar Assembly seat Adhiraj Panigrahi had also quit the party last month and joined the BJD, which had fielded him to contest his assembly seat in the upcoming elections.

Two more Congress leaders, including former minister Surendra Singh Bhoi and former MLA K Surya Rao, had also resigned from the party and joined the BJD recently.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.