May 29, 2024 23:19 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'We are not in permanent marriage': Arvind Kejriwal on tie-up with Congress, predicts a 300-seat win for INDIA bloc | Pune Porsche accident: Hospital dean alleges political interference by legislator | TMC transferring SC, ST, OBC reservations to Muslims: PM Modi in Bengal | Mani Shankar Aiyar's '1962 Chinese invasion' comment sparks row, Congress distances itself after BJP ire | Supreme Court refuses to hear Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea seeking interim bail extension
AAP, INDIA bloc to hold rally in Delhi today protesting Arvind Kejriwal's arrest
Kejriwal arrest
In image opposition INDIA bloc during Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra/ courtesy: Facebook/Rahul Gandhi

AAP, INDIA bloc to hold rally in Delhi today protesting Arvind Kejriwal's arrest

| @@indiablooms | 31 Mar 2024, 09:27 am

New Delhi/IBNS: After the arrest of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has organised a mega rally in the national capital on Sunday, which will be attended by key leaders of the Opposition INDIA bloc, including Rahul Gandhi, Mallikarjun Kharge, and Akhilesh Yadav.

The 'Loktantra Bachao' (Save Democracy) rally, which will be held at Ramlila Maidan in the national capital, has been organised following the arrest of Kejriwal in the Delhi liquor policy scam last week.

The rally is also being seen as a show of strength and unity by the INDIA bloc ahead of the Lok Sabha elections scheduled to commence in a few weeks.

The opposition leaders are expected to speak out strongly against what it calls the BJP's misuse of central agencies like the Enforcement Directorate, CBI, and the Income Tax Department.

Their allegations have gained momentum after the arrests of Kejriwal and former Jharkhand chief minister Hemant Soren, and the tax notices issued to the Congress, including one for Rs. 1,800 crore which was sent on Friday.

Some of the leaders in attendance will be Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, senior party leader Rahul Gandhi, Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav, NCP (Sharadchandra Pawar) chief Sharad Pawar, Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray, Senior RJD leader and former Bihar deputy chief minister Tejashwi Yadav. Jharkhand Chief Minister Champai Soren, National Conference President Farooq Abdullah, PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, and the DMK's Tiruchi Siva.

The Trinamool Congress, which has decided to go solo in Bengal, is also expected to send a representative.

From the AAP, Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann will be at the rally with other senior leaders.

Arvind Kejriwal's wife, Sunita Kejriwal, and Hemant Soren's wife, Kalpana Soren, will also attend. According to reports, Kejriwal's wife will even address the raly.

The Congress on Saturday asserted that the INDIA bloc’s rally will not be 'person-specific or of one party' but to save the democracy and Constitution of the country and will be called 'Loktantra Bachao' rally.

Addressing a press conference at the AICC headquarters here, Congress General Secretary in-charge communication Jairam Ramesh had said, "Tomorrow's rally will not be a rally of one party or save one person but of 28 parties of INDIA alliance. Moreover, it will be necessary to save our democracy and Constitution."

The AAP has received permission from the authorities to hold the rally with more than 20,000 people. AAP's Punjab working president, Budh Ram, said the party has set a target of over 1 lakh people from the state participating in it.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.