May 21, 2024 07:04 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sambit Patra triggers row calling Lord Jagannath 'Modi bhakt', later clarifies as 'slip of tongue' | AAP claims conspiracy after ED says it got illegal foreign funds | Amitabh and Jaya Bachchan walk out hand-in-hand after casting their votes in Lok Sabha polls | 57.5 pct voting recorded in Phase 5 of LS polls; top politicians including Smriti Irani, Rahul Gandhi in fray | CCTV footage shows Pune teen drinking at bar before Porsche accident that killed 2
Lok Sabha polls 2024: BJP drops Sunny Deol, fields ex-bureaucrat Taranjit Sandhu from Punjab's Gurdaspur seat
Image Credit:

Lok Sabha polls 2024: BJP drops Sunny Deol, fields ex-bureaucrat Taranjit Sandhu from Punjab's Gurdaspur seat

| @indiablooms | 30 Mar 2024, 10:54 pm

New Delhi: The BJP unveiled its 8th list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections on Saturday.

Notably, the BJP nominated former diplomat Taranjit Sandhu for the Amritsar constituency and dropped veteran actor and incumbent MP Sunny Deol from Gurdaspur.

A 1988 batch Indian Foreign Service officer, Sandhu served as India's ambassador to the United States from early February 2020 till 31 January 2024.

The fresh list includes six candidates for the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab.

Interestingly, the party relocated incumbent BJP MP Hans Raj Hans from Delhi's North-West constituency to Punjab, where he will now vie for the Faridkot Parliamentary seat.

Former Congress stalwarts Preneet Kaur, wife of former Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, and Ravneet Singh Bittu are prominent names in the BJP's candidate lineup.

Kaur is slated to contest from her traditional stronghold of Patiala, while Bittu will represent Ludhiana.

Preneet Kaur recently joined the BJP in the presence of top party leaders from the state.

Bittu, a three-time MP and grandson of former Punjab Chief Minister Beant Singh, draws further interest to the BJP's candidate pool.

In a notable move, former Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Sushil Kumar Rinku, who recently switched allegiance to the BJP, will contest from Jalandhar.

Rinku, along with AAP MLA Sheetal Angural, formally joined the BJP on March 28.

The BJP's eighth list also includes three Lok Sabha candidates from Odisha and two from West Bengal.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.