May 28, 2024 09:44 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bibhav Kumar's bail, if granted, will be a death threat for me and my family: Swati Maliwal to Delhi HC | Now we don't trust Gujarat govt: High Court raps State and local body over Rajkot gaming zone fire incident | Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal requests Supreme Court to extend his interim relief by 7 days in liquor policy case | Cyclone Remal leaves trail of destruction in West Bengal, claims 2 lives, downpour continues | 'Man-made disaster': Gujarat High Court takes suo motu cognizance of Rajkot gaming zone fire that killed 27 people
PM Modi to kickstart BJP's Lok Sabha poll campaign from Meerut
Lok Sabha
Photo courtesy: Facebook/Narendra Modi

PM Modi to kickstart BJP's Lok Sabha poll campaign from Meerut

| @indiablooms | 29 Mar 2024, 01:50 pm

Meerut/UNI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will kickstart the Lok Sabha election campaign of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the third consecutive time from Meerut with a rally on March 31.

Scheduled to be held near the Central Potato Research Institute in Modipuram, the rally being jointly organised by the BJP with its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal, will witness RLD chief Jayant Chaudhary sharing the dais with PM Modi for the first time.

In 2014, the PM started the campaign from Meerut, which significantly influenced the election results, with BJP sweeping all the 14 Lok Sabha seats in western Uttar Pradesh.

He once again launched the campaign with an election rally from Meerut in 2019, but this time BJP secured only seven out of the 14 seats.

While Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) clinched four seats, three went to Samajwadi Party (SP).

The efficacy of Modi's election rally from the land of Meerut in 2024 remains to be seen, especially considering BJP's alliance with the RLD and the sentiments of voters in the Jaat belt towards this alliance, a determining factor only revealed by the upcoming election results.

In 2019, BJP won Meerut, Baghpat, Muzaffarnagar, Kairana, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar and Bulandshahr seats. BSP emerged victorious in Saharanpur, Nagina, Bijnor, and Amroha, while SP secured Rampur, Moradabad and Sambhal seats.

It may be noted that BJP is eyeing the target of sweeping all the 80 seats in the most populous state UP with a slogan of 'Abki Baar 400 Paar'.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.