May 26, 2024 17:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Payal Kapadia's Indian film All We Imagine As Light wins Grand Prix Award at Cannes | 'Was told to take the blame': Pune Porsche teen's grandfather told driver to take responsibility for crash | 24 killed in gaming zone fire in Gujarat’s Rajkot; PM Modi expresses grief | INDIA bloc performing mujra for vote bank, says Prime Minister Narendra Modi launching a scathing attack on opposition parties | West Bengal, Odisha brace for impact of Cyclone Remal, check the latest update on landfall time
Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP inks seat-sharing deal with AMMK, NJP, TMMK in Tamil Nadu
Tamil Nadu
Photo courtesy: X/@BJP4TamilNadu

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP inks seat-sharing deal with AMMK, NJP, TMMK in Tamil Nadu

| @indiablooms | 21 Mar 2024, 10:33 am

Chennai/UNI: The BJP-led NDA, which is cobbling up a formidable alliance after its key partner AIADMK had severed its ties, has finalised the seat sharing agreement with its new found ally, the Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam, besides the New Justice Party (NJP) and Tamizhaga Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (TMMK) for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu.

As per the agreement, the BJP, which will be taking on the two Dravidian majors, the ruling DMK and the AIADMK in the April 19 polls, has allotted two seats to the AMMK headed by TTV Dhinakaran.

It also allotted one seat each to the fringe parties--the NJP led by A.C.Shanmugam and the TMMK headed by John Pandian.

The seat-sharing arrangement was signed by BJP State president K. Annamalai with the respective party leaders on Wednesday evening.

The signing of a pact with the three parties comes in the backdrop of the BJP roping in PMK as a key partner in its front by allotting ten seats to it.

The seat sharing with other allies including ousted AIADMK leader O.Panneerselvam, Tamil Maanila Congress of G.K.Vasan, and IJK, which has been promised the Perambalur seat from where its Founder Paarivendhar will seek re-election, will be finalised in the next one or two days and the constituencies identified.

The BJP's list of candidates and that of alliance parties were also expected by tomorrow as the filing of Nominations for the elections has started and would end on March 27.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.