May 25, 2024 08:27 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bangladeshi MP Anwarul Azim was honey-trapped; killers were paid Rs. 5 cr for his gory murder: Cops | NIA arrests another key conspirator in Bengaluru Rameshwaram Cafe blast case | Delhi court convicts Medha Patkar in criminal defamation case filed by Delhi LG VK Saxena | 2 cops suspended for 'not following protocol' in Pune Porsche accident case | Sadhus hit Kolkata streets in protest against Mamata Banerjee's attack on Kartik Maharaj
Six miscreants sent to jail for attacking on-duty policemen in Tripura
Photo Courtesy: Unsplash

Six miscreants sent to jail for attacking on-duty policemen in Tripura

| @indiablooms | 19 Mar 2024, 04:50 pm

A local court in Dharmanagar of North Tripura, on Tuesday remanded six accused of attacking on-duty police personnel to 14 days of judicial remand while asking police to expedite the investigation.

According to the police, at least five police personnel, including the officer-in-charge of Churaibari police station along the Assam-Tripura border, Samaresh Das.

Other injured police personnel were identified as Inspector Sudip Jamatia, Sub-inspector Biswajit Chowdhury, Constable Khokan Deb, Aminul Haque, and a woman constable.

Police said in connection with a daring theft reported in Lakshminagar last week, a suspected man was detained based on secret information on Sunday night.

Soon after, a group of 50–60 villagers suddenly showed up and blocked the way of the police with batons, sticks, rods, and sharp weapons, demanding the handing-over of the accused.

“We were attacked at least three times on our way back by the miscreants. They even rushed to the police station on bikes and engaged in a pitched battle with the police personnel, which left at least five injured and damaged a police vehicle,” said SP (North) Bhanupada Chakraborty, adding that additional forces had to mobilise to tackle the situation.

Later, police arrested six accused persons—Arup Nath, Dipak Goswami, Ajay Debnath, Animesh Nath, Bijit Nath, and Pabitra Nath on the charge of attacking policemen and triggering tension in the locality.

(With UNI Inputs)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.