May 30, 2024 16:18 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Liquor policy case: Delhi court seeks ED's response on Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea | Shashi Tharoor's former PA arrested at Delhi Airport in gold smuggling case, Congress leader says 'law must take its own course' | Bihar man dies in Delhi hospital due to heat stroke amid record-breaking heatwave in national capital | Bengali film actress Rituparna Sengupta summoned by ED in ration distribution scam | Centre begins process of granting citizenship under CAA in West Bengal
Lok Sabha 2024: Election Commission announces poll dates; check out state-wise details
Image Credit: PIB

Lok Sabha 2024: Election Commission announces poll dates; check out state-wise details

| @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2024, 08:40 pm

New Delhi: The Chief Election Commissioner on Saturday announced the schedule for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The electoral process will span seven phases, starting on April 19 and covering all states and union territories.

While 22 states and UTs will hold voting on a single day, three states will conduct voting across all seven phases, with Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and West Bengal having the most polling dates.

The majority of UTs will cast their votes in a single phase, with the exception of Jammu & Kashmir, which will hold voting on five separate dates.

Here's the detailed schedule of which state, UT will vote in how many phases and the poll dates:

States and UTs with one poll date (22):

Arunachal Pradesh, Andaman and Nicobar island, Andhra Pradesh, Chandigarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Ladakh, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Telangana, Uttarakhand, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu.

States and UTs with two poll dates (4):

Karnataka, Rajasthan, Tripura, Manipur

States and UTs with three poll dates (2):

Chhattisgarh, Assam

States and UTs with four poll dates (3):

Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand

States and UTs with five poll dates (2):

Maharashtra, Jammu & Kashmir

States and UTs with seven poll dates (3):

West Bengal, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh

Here is the detail of dates for each phase

Phase 1 of voting is scheduled for April 19

Phase 2 for April 26

Phase 3 on May 7

Phase 4 on May 13

Phase 5 on May 13

Phase 6 on May 25

Phase 7 on June 1



Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.