May 21, 2024 05:25 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sambit Parta triggers row calling Lord Jagannath 'Modi bhakt', clarifies later as 'slip of tongue' | AAP claims conspiracy after ED says it got illegal foreign funds | Amitabh and Jaya Bachchan walk out hand-in-hand after casting their votes in Lok Sabha polls | 57.5 pct voting recorded in Phase 5 of LS polls; top politicians including Smriti Irani, Rahul Gandhi in fray | CCTV footage shows Pune teen drinking at bar before Porsche accident that killed 2
21 ministers take oath in first cabinet expansion of Nitish government
Bihar politics
Photo courtesy: UNI

21 ministers take oath in first cabinet expansion of Nitish government

| @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2024, 12:02 am

Patna/IBNS/UNI: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Friday inducted 21 new ministers including three women in his cabinet, carrying out the much-awaited expansion of the new National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government in the state.

Bihar Governor R. Vishwanath Arlekar administered the oath office to the 21 ministers - 12 from BJP and 9 from JD(U) - in a function at the Raj Bhavan.

The oath was administered in the presence of Chairman of Bihar Legislative Council Devesh Chandra Thakur, Bihar Assembly Speaker Nand Kishor Yadav, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Ministers Samrat Choudhary and Vijay Kumar Sinha, ministers in Nitish's cabinet and other dignitaries.

After government formation on January 28, this is the first cabinet expansion.

Those inducted into the cabinet from the BJP quota are Renu Devi, Mangal Pandey (MLC), Niraj Kumar Singh Bablu, Nitish Mishra, Nitin Navin, Dilip Jayaswal (MLC), Janak Ram (MLC), Hari Sahni (MLC), Krishn Nandan Paswan, Kedar Prasad Gupta, Surendra Mehta and Santosh Kumar Singh (MLC).

Ashok Choudhary (MLC), Lesi Singh, Madan Sahni, Maheshwar Hajari, Shila Mandal, Sunil Kumar, Jayant Raj and Jama Khan, and Ratnesh Sada, took oath from the JD(U).

The major constituent alliances BJP and JD(U) took 46 days to finalise the names for the cabinet expansion.

At the time of government formation, eight ministers along with Chief Minister Nitish Kumar had taken oath.

The cabinet strength is now up to 30 including 15 from BJP, 13 from JDU, one from Hindustani Awam Morcha, and an independent.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.