May 30, 2024 14:17 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Shashi Tharoor's former PA arrested at Delhi Airport in gold smuggling case, Congress leader says 'law must take its own course' | Bihar man dies in Delhi hospital due to heat stroke amid record-breaking heatwave in national capital | Bengali film actress Rituparna Sengupta summoned by ED in ration distribution scam | Centre begins process of granting citizenship under CAA in West Bengal | Delhi govt imposes fine on car wash amid severe water crisis
Centre directs states and UTs to ban 23 'dangerous' dogs as pets
Photo Courtesy: Pixabay

Centre directs states and UTs to ban 23 'dangerous' dogs as pets

| @indiablooms | 14 Mar 2024, 11:11 pm

New Delhi: The Central government has directed states to prohibit the sale and breeding of 23 ferocious dog breeds, such as the Pitbull Terrier, American Bulldog, Rottweiler, and Mastiffs, due to increasing incidents of pet dog attacks.

The order, sent to states and Union Territories, prohibits people from owning 23 specific breeds of dogs as pets.

The government also highlighted the need to sterilise these existing pet dogs of the specified breeds to prevent further breeding.

In a letter, the Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying has said that it received requests from citizens, citizen forums, and Animal Welfare Organizations to prohibit certain dog breeds from being kept as pets or for other purposes.

A committee has identified 23 breeds of dogs, including mixed and crossbreeds, as ferocious and potentially hazardous to human safety.

Among the breeds recommended for prohibition by the central government are Pitbull Terrier, Tosa Inu, American Staffordshire Terrier, Fila Brasileiro, Dogo Argentino, American Bulldog, Boerboel Kangal, Central Asian Shepherd Dog, and Caucasian Shepherd Dog.

Other breeds identified for potential banning include South Russian Shepherd Dog, Tornjak, Sarplaninac, Japanese Tosa, and Akita, along with Mastiffs, Terriers, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Wolf Dogs, Canario, Akbash Dog, Moscow Guard Dog, Cane Corso, and Bandog.

"The above dog breeds, including crossbreeds, shall be prohibited for import, breedings, selling as pet dogs and other purposes," the letter said, quoting the recommendations of the expert panel.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.