May 21, 2024 06:36 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Sambit Patra triggers row calling Lord Jagannath 'Modi bhakt', later clarifies as 'slip of tongue' | AAP claims conspiracy after ED says it got illegal foreign funds | Amitabh and Jaya Bachchan walk out hand-in-hand after casting their votes in Lok Sabha polls | 57.5 pct voting recorded in Phase 5 of LS polls; top politicians including Smriti Irani, Rahul Gandhi in fray | CCTV footage shows Pune teen drinking at bar before Porsche accident that killed 2
PM Modi to chair key meeting on March 15 to appoint 2 election commissioners
Photo courtesy: UNI

PM Modi to chair key meeting on March 15 to appoint 2 election commissioners

| @indiablooms | 11 Mar 2024, 02:15 am

New Delhi: A high-level committee chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi will convene on March 15 to officially select the officials, who will fill the roles of new election commissioners, a media report said.

These positions fell vacant due to the resignation of Arun Goel and the retirement of Anup Chandra Pandey in February.

The committee, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and consisting of a Union Minister and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, the Leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha, will assemble on March 15 to select the candidates for the position of election commissioners, said the report.

The appointment of the election commissioners will be made by the president.

According to the report, two election commissioners are likely to be appointed instead of just one, as previously expected.

With the Lok Sabha election schedule expected to be announced soon, Goel resigned on Friday morning.

This has left Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar as the only member of the election body.

A search committee led by Union Law Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal, the Home Secretary and the Department of Personnel and Training Secretary, will compile two separate lists of five names each for the two vacant positions, according to the report.

Subsequently, the selection committee, chaired by the Prime Minister, will finalize the appointment of two individuals as election commissioners.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.