May 29, 2024 03:48 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Rajkot fire: Gaming zone co-owner among those killed, police confirms today | Eyeing more seats in Bengal, PM Modi holds mega roadshow in north Kolkata | 'I am not against minorities but won't divide the country based on religion': PM Modi | Delhi LG VK Saxena takes swipe at Kejriwal over children's hospital fire, orders anti-corruption probe | Punjab minister Balkar Singh's obscene video surfaces, BJP calls AAP 'Anti Aurat Party'
TMC snubs Congress, announces 42 Lok Sabha candidates for upcoming polls
Trinamool Congress
Photo Courtesy: AITC Official X page

TMC snubs Congress, announces 42 Lok Sabha candidates for upcoming polls

| @indiablooms | 10 Mar 2024, 04:03 pm

Snubbing INDIA bloc partner Congress, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress on Sunday announced 42 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls, ensuring it is fighting a single-handed battle against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the state.

TMC leader Abhishek Banerjee, who will contest from Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha seat, announced the names of the candidates during the party's major rally in Kolkata's iconic Brigade Parade Ground.

Mamata Banerjee accuses BJP of committing atrocities against people of Bengal

In a dramatic act, Mamata Banerjee escorted the candidates on a long ramp walk at the rally to be introduced to the assembled people.

"After winning 18 seats in the last Lok Sabha election, they commenced their atrocities against the people of Bengal," the CM said slamming the BJP.

"They (BJP) go to Delhi and ask the central government to stop the legitimate funds of the people of Bengal.," she said.

Banerjee also asked why the BJP failed to act when women were 'paraded naked on the streets of Manipur'.

"What did the BJP do to stop it? How many teams were sent to Manipur?" she asked.

Banerjee said, "Now after 2-3 days, ED will again come here to raid."

Without naming, Banerjee came down heavily on former Calcutta High Court Justice Abhijit Gangopadhay for joining the BJP after quitting the job.

"The Judiciary should not sit in the BJP's chair and deliver verdicts. Though I have a huge respect for the judiciary, this is not done," Banerjee said.

Yusuf Pathan likely to take on Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury in his bastion

In its list, the TMC fielded former Indian cricketer Yusuf Pathan from senior Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury's bastion Baharampur.

The politically crucial seat is expected to see a fight between Yusuf and five-time Congress MP from West Bengal Chowdhury.

Chowdhury has won the seat for the past five terms.

Kirti Azad fielded from Bardhaman-Durgapur constituency

1983 World Cup champion player Kirti Azad, a former BJP leader, will be contesting the Lok Sabha polls from Bardhaman-Durgapur constituency.

Nusrat Jahan dropped

Sitting MP actor Nusrat Jahan was dropped from the list and instead of her Haji Nurul Islam will contest for TMC from the crucial Basirhat seat.

The seat assumes significance amid the Sandeshkhali row, an episode which hit national headlines and eventually led to the arrest of TMC strongman Sheikh Shahjahan.

What happened in Sandeshkhali?

The turmoil in Sandeshkhali, a remote block about 80 kms from Kolkata and a part of the Basirhat sub-division of North 24 Parganas district, broke out first in early January when a team of Enforcement Directorate (ED) reached TMC leader Sheikh Shahjahan's residence to quiz him in connection with the ration distribution scam in the state.

Shahjahan's aides allegedly assaulted and chased the ED officers turning the area into a political hotspot months ahead of the Lok Sabha elections.

Several women from the village came out with brooms and sticks demanding the arrest of the TMC strongman.

The protesting women have alleged Shahjahan and his aides captured several lands forcefully and sexually harassed them.

Shahjahan, who absconded for several weeks, was later arrested.

Amid criticisms from the opposition, Trinamool Congress MP Nusrat Jahan broke silence on the Sandeshkhali row and said she always followed her party's guidelines and served the people.

TMC replaces Mimi with Saayoni Ghosh in Jadavpur

The TMC also replaced Jadavpur MP and actress Mimi Chakraborty with her Tollywood colleague and party leader Saayoni Ghosh in its list.

Mahua Moitra to fight from Krishnanagar

Mahua Moitra, who was expelled from the Lok Sabha in a bribe-for-question scam, will be contesting from Krishnanagar.

She was elected from the same seat in 2019.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.