April 14, 2024 13:24 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'What else is Congress doing other than looting?': Kangana Ranaut in Himachal Pradesh | Iran could attack Israel sooner than later, warns US President Joe Biden | Amid unemployment, inflation issues, PM Modi's leadership likely to help his third consecutive term at govt: Survey | AAP to support INDIA bloc 'unconditionally' in UP for Lok Sabha election | Amid threats from Iran, Israel launches massive strike on Gaza
BJP seeks no-trust vote in Himachal Pradesh after stunning victory in Rajya Sabha polls Himachal Pradesh
Photo courtesy: Facebook/Jairam Thakur

BJP seeks no-trust vote in Himachal Pradesh after stunning victory in Rajya Sabha polls

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Feb 2024, 10:57 am

Shimla/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely to seek a no-trust vote in Himachal Pradesh after it managed to pull off a stunning victory in the elections to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from the hill state.

Despite being in power, the Sukhvinder Sukhu-led Congress government faced trouble on Tuesday after several ruling party MLAs cross-voted in favour of the BJP, which has only 25 MLAs in the 68-member assembly.

The BJP seeks the no-trust motion on a day the Congress government will place its budget in the assembly.

Meanwhile, Himachal Pradesh Assembly Speaker Kuldeep Singh Pathania met Governor Pratap Shukla at the Raj Bhavan in the morning.

Declaring the victory of the BJP candidate, Harsh Mahajan, Leader of the Opposition, Jairam Thakur said: "Despite having such a huge majority, the Congress has lost the Rajya Sabha election in Himachal Pradesh.

"I want to congratulate Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda and (Home Minister) Amit Shah. We pulled off a victory when our chances seemed very low."

As the Congress has 40 MLAs in the Assembly, its candidate, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, was expected to win comfortably.

During voting on Tuesday, six Congress MLAs and three Independents supporting the government cast their ballots for the BJP, according to reports.

Helped by six Congress MLAs and three Independents, the BJP secured 34 ballots for Mahajan, reducing the votes for Singhvi to the same number. The winner was then decided through a draw of lots, which went in Mahajan's favour.

After the results were declared, Singhvi said: "Any party fielding a candidate when it has just 25 MLAs and the government has the support of 43 sends out only one message - that they are shamelessly planning to do something that the law does not allow.

"And I am not talking about Mr Mahajan or this election alone, I am talking about the principle."

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.