April 19, 2024 21:53 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Millions of Indians vote in the biggest phase of Lok Sabha polls, 60.03 pct turnout recorded | India votes in first phase of Lok Sabha elections, approximately 60 percent voting recorded across 102 seats till 5pm | Maldives opposition demands President Muizzu's impeachment over leaked reports alleging corruption by him | AAP claims conspiracy to kill Arvind Kejriwal after mango eating row | India successfully tests Indigenous Technology Subsonic Cruise Missile
Election 2024: AAP, Congress reach seat-sharing deals in Goa, Delhi, Gujarat and Haryana
Photo courtesy: Facebook/Arvind Kejriwal | UNI

Election 2024: AAP, Congress reach seat-sharing deals in Goa, Delhi, Gujarat and Haryana

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 22 Feb 2024, 05:30 pm

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress have reached a primary agreement to divide electoral constituencies in Delhi, Gujarat, Goa, Chandigarh, and Haryana ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha election, media reports said.

This development indicates progress for the struggling INDIA bloc, formed last year with the aim of defeating the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The agreement, negotiated at Congress leader KC Venugopal's residence, is anticipated to be officially confirmed at 4 pm. However, the party has hinted that there are still some details to be ironed out.

Earlier today, sources indicated that a deal for Delhi, where the AAP holds power, was nearing finalization.

As per the agreement, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's party is set to contest four seats, while the Congress will nominate candidates for three seats.

The report said citing sources that Congress and AAP have reached seat-sharing agreements for three BJP-ruled states and Chandigarh.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will contest two seats: Bharuch and Bhavnagar, currently held by the BJP's Mansukhbhai Vasava and Bharti Shiyal.

The Congress will contest the sole Lok Sabha seat in Chandigarh, currently held by the BJP.

According to the report, in Haryana, the AAP will field candidates in one seat.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had earlier announced Venzy Viegas as its candidate for the South Goa seat. However, they have decided to withdraw Viegas, who is the Benaulim MLA, and offer the seat to the Congress.

The Congress candidate for this seat in the last election was Francisco Sardinha. It remains uncertain which party will contest the North Goa seat, currently held by the BJP, the NDTV report said.

AAP and Congress have not negotiated on any seat in Punjab.

In Uttar Pradesh, Congress has reached an understanding on 17 seats with the Samajwadi Party of Uttar Pradesh's 80 seats, the report said.

The deal comes after speculations that the two parties may end up without any seat-sharing deal.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.