May 31, 2024 04:54 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Powerful solar storm headed towards Earth, likely to cause blackouts | 16 die of heat-related causes in 2 hours in Bihar hospital | PM Modi reaches Kanniyakumari to meditate at Vivekananda Rock | 'Final chance to ensure our democracy is protected': Manmohan Singh's emotional appeal to voters | Liquor policy case: Delhi court seeks ED's response on Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea
Madhya Pradesh: Voting commences to elect 230 Assembly seats
Assembly Polls
Photo Courtesy: UNI

Madhya Pradesh: Voting commences to elect 230 Assembly seats

| @indiablooms | 17 Nov 2023, 08:54 am

Voting commenced on Friday in the heartland state of Madhya Pradesh where the single-phase exercise of the franchise is underway amid tight security across all 230 Assembly constituencies vis-à-vis formation of the state’s 16th Vidhan Sabha.

The time limits are 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. with the exception of certain polling centres in Leftwing extremism-affected Balaghat, Dindori and Mandla districts where voting will cease at 3 p.m.

It was officially learnt that an electorate exceeding 5.60 crore – including more than 2.71 crore women and 1,292 of the third gender – is eligible to participate in the democratic exercise through the medium of electronic voting machines at 64,626 polling centres – including 17,032 critical ones – to decide the fortunes of 2,533 nominees including 252 females and one member of the third gender.

A total of 1,316 vulnerable areas were identified. Monitoring through webcasting and closed-circuit television has been arranged at more than 42,000 centres.

The ruling BJP and the principal-opposition Congress have fielded their representatives for all seats whereas other figures include BSP 181, SP 71 and 1,166 independents.

Among the prominent contestants are Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan (Budhni), Congress state head and erstwhile CM Kamal Nath (Chhindwara), Union Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Minister Narendra Singh Tomar (Dimani), Union Minister of State for Jal Shakti and Food-Processing Industries Prahalad Singh Patel (Narsinghpur), Union MoS for Steel and Rural Development Faggansingh Kulaste (Niwas) and BJP Gen Secy Kailash Vijayvargiya (Indore-1).

Counting is slated for December 3.

(With UNI Inputs)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.