August 10, 2022 16:47 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
West Bengal: 9 dead in govt bus-autorickshaw collision in Birbhum | BJP only knows to divide people: Tejashwi Yadav with Nitish Kumar as they stake claim to form Bihar govt | Nitish Kumar to take oath as CM of Grand Alliance tomorrow, Tejashwi Yadav as deputy | Split between Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and BJP on cards? Decision tomorrow | India's badmin icon PV Sindhu clinches maiden CWG women singles gold
Channi, Siddhu among 86 candidates announced in Cong Punjab list Punjab Elections

Channi, Siddhu among 86 candidates announced in Cong Punjab list

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Jan 2022, 04:25 am

Chandigarh/UNI: The Congress on Saturday released its first list of 86 candidates for the upcoming Punjab Assembly elections. 

Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi will again contest from Chamkaur Sahib (SC) and Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu from his constituency Amritsar East.

Actor Sonu Sood's sister Malvika Sood will be a candidate from Moga, Rajya Sabha member Pratap Singh Bajwa will stand from Qadian. Singer Sidhu Moosewala, who joined the Congress recently, has been fielded from Mansa.

Deputy Chief Minister Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa has been fielded from Dera Baba Nanak and Om Parkash Soni from Amritsar Central.

Almost all cabinet ministers have been given tickets. Cabinet Ministers Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa will contest from Fatehgarh Churian, Dr Raj Kumar Verka from Amritsar West (SC) and Aruna Chaudhary from Dina Nagar (SC).

Manpreet Badal is being fielded from Bathinda; Rana Gurjeet Singh from Kapurthala; Trip Rajinder Bajwa from Fatehgarh Churian; Razia Sultana from Malerkotra; and Aruna Chaudhary from Dina Nagar reserved segment are some other ministers who are in the fray.

Controversial Punjabi singer Sidhu Mussewala will contest from Mansa.

Senior party leader Sunil Jakhar's Abohar assembly seat has meanwhile gone to his nephew Sandeep Jakhar, and minister Brahm Mohindra's son Mohit Mohindra will contest from his Patiala rural assembly seat.

The Congress faces a stiff challenge from the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in Punjab. Former state chief minister Amarinder Singh's Punjab Lok Congress is fighting the polls in alliance with the BJP while the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has allied with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).