May 20, 2022 10:06 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Massive fire breaks out in a forest near Jammu | Undefeated German champion boxer Musa Yamak dies of heart attack during match | Gyanvapi mosque row: Report of videography, meant for court, made public | PM Modi to participate in Quad Leaders' Summit in Tokyo on May 24 | Prices of LPG hiked
All bodies of Coonoor chopper crash victims identified Coonoor crash

All bodies of Coonoor chopper crash victims identified

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 12 Dec 2021, 01:59 am

New Delhi/UNI: Mortal remains of all Army personnel and Indian Air Force (IAF) personnel on board the chopper that crashed near Coonoor in Tamil Nadu, killing India's first CDS General Bipin Rawat, have been identified, Defence sources said on Saturday.

While mortal remains of six personnel, two from the Army and four from the IAF, was identified on Saturday morning, the remaining four personnel could be identified by Saturday night.

The mortal remains of the four personnel identified on Saturday evening will be handed over to the families on Sunday morning, sources said.

Earlier, the mortal remains of 6 personnel, who were identified on Saturday morning, were handed over to their families for the last rites.

The chopper crash, that happened close to Coonoor in Tamil Nadu on Wednesday, led to the death of Chief of Defence Staff Gen Rawat, his wife Madhulika Rawat, Brigadier LS Lidder and 10 others on board. The pilot, Group Captain Varun Singh is the sole survivor, and is in a critical state in the Command Hospital in Bengaluru.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh spoke to his father Colonel KP Singh (retd) on Saturday.

Last rites of General Rawat, his wife, and Brigadier Lidder were performed on Friday. The CDS and his wife's ashes were collected by their daughters, Kritika and Tarini on Saturday morning and immersed in the Ganga in Haridwar on Saturday.

Others who died were Lieutenant Colonel Harjinder Singh, Wing Commander Prithvi Singh Chauhan, Squadron Leader Kuldeep Singh, Junior Warrant Officers Rana Pratap Das and Arakkal Pradeep, Havildar Satpal Rai, Naik Gursewak Singh, Naik Jitendra Kumar, Lance Naik Vivek Kumar and Lance Naik B Sai Teja.