May 10, 2021 14:23 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Exempt oxygen tanks, Covid medicines from taxes: Mamata Banerjee writes to PM Modi | Delhi lockdown extended by another week, metro to remain shut this time | 21 dead in Rajasthan village after Covid-infected corpse buried without protocol | PM Modi's actions to stifle criticisms 'inexcusable', govt must own up Covid mistakes: Lancet | India records 4.03 lakh fresh Covid cases, 4,092 deaths in last 24 hours
Uttar Pradesh: Ruling BJP gets big jolt in panchayat polls Uttar Pradesh
Image Credit: IBNS File

Uttar Pradesh: Ruling BJP gets big jolt in panchayat polls

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 04 May 2021, 03:29 pm

Lucknow/UNI: Even as the BJP was yet to swallow the defeat in the West Bengal assembly polls, the panchayat poll results in Uttar Pradesh has given a big jolt to the ruling party.

Though the BJP leadership was claiming that their candidate had won over 60 per cent of the seats, the result declared in the districts shows a different scenario.

Among the 3 tier panchayat polls the contest of the District Development Council (DDC) member was crucial for the political parties in which BJP lagged in almost in majority of districts including PM' s constituency Varanasi, Ayodhya, Mathura and in state capital Lucknow.

However in Gorakhpur, the native of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, the BJP was successful in winning a majority of seats.

BJP president Swantra Deo Singh has claimed that party candidates have won over 918 DDC seats and were leading in 456 other places of the total 3050 at stake.

However the ruling BJP would get an edge during the election of the DDC chairman, as several independents, who have won the poll, could support the BJP nominee.

As no political party symbols were used in these polls, it will also benefit the ruling party to rope in the winning candidates of the opposition.

According to reports in the state capital Lucknow, of the announced 25 seats, 10 were won by Samajwadi Party(SP), 4 by BSP, 3 by BJP and Independent and others 8.

In Modi's Varanasi district, seven DDC seats were won by BJP, 10 by SP, 4 by BSP, one by Congress, 2 by SBSP, 3 by Apna Dal(Sonelal) and 11 by Independents.

In Ayodhya, of the 40 seats, 22 were won by SP, 8 by BJP, 4 by BSP and 6 by others.

Of the 33 DDC seats announced in Mathura district, 12 were won by BSP, 9 by BJP, 8 by RLD, one by SP and others 3.

In Auraiya district, of the 23 seats announced 5 were won by BJP, 10 by SP, 4 by BSP and 4 by others. While in Kanpur Dehat district, of the 32 seats announced, BJP, 12 by SP, 7 by BSP and 9 by others.

In Shamli district of the 19 seats announced 4 were won by BJP, 2 by SP, 5 by RLD and 8 by others.In Hathras district , of the 24 seats declared 5 were won by BJP, 4 by SP, 2 by BSP, 3 by RLD and 10 by others .

A report from Baghpat said RLD won 8 seats of the 20 followed by 4 of BJP, 4 of SP, one of BSP and 3 others.

In Jalaun district, in the total 25 seats, 7 were won by BSP, 6 by BJP, 4 by SP, One by Congress and 7 by others.

In Etawah district, of the 24 seats announced so far, 18 were won by SP, 2 by BJP, one by BSP and 3 others while in Balrampur district 6 were won by BJP, 9 by SP, 6 by BSP, one by Congress and 2 by others.

In Mainpuri, 12 were won by SP, 8 by BJP, one by Congress and 9 by Independents.