June 21, 2024 07:53 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Pune woman hangs from building edge holding a man's hand just for an Instagram reel. Read here | BJP's Bhartruhari Mahtab appointed Pro Tem Speaker, Congress calls it 'first mistake' | Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal gets bail in liquor policy case | CBI probe into UGC-NET 2024 has been ordered, says Education Ministry a day after cancelling exam | Darshan Thoogudeepa involved murder case: Renukaswamy's testicles were ruptured, face was half-eaten by dogs
AAP set for a landslide win in Delhi, Arvind Kejriwal eyes CM's post for third term

AAP set for a landslide win in Delhi, Arvind Kejriwal eyes CM's post for third term

| @indiablooms | 11 Feb 2020, 06:49 am

New Delhi/IBNS: Arvind Kejriwal is aiming to become the Delhi Chief Minister for the third term as his Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is set for a landslide victory in the assembly elections on Tuesday.

According to the latest trend of the poll results, the AAP is ahead in 58 seats while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 12 seats.

The AAP has registered 53.31% of votes, the BJP has gained 39.11% of votes and Congress 4.12% of total votes. 

Like the previous assembly elections in 2015, the Congress has drawn a blank so far in the national capital.

However, the contest in several crucial seats are still on with surprising leads coming up from different constituencies.

Though Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading in New Delhi constituency by over 8000 votes, his deputy and AAP candidate from Patparganj, Manish Sisodia, is trailing by 1576 votes.

Sisodia's colleague Atishi, who had failed to defeat former cricketer Gautam Gambhir in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, is leading in Kalkaji by just six votes.

BJP's controversial candidate from Model Town, Kapil Mishra, who was earlier banned from campaigning for 96 hours by the Election Commission (EC) for comparing the polls with a fight between India and Pakistan, is trailing. AAP's Akhilesh Pati Tripathi is ahead by 7794 votes.

AAP's controversial candidate from Malviya Nagar, Somnath Bharti, is leading by over 3000 votes.

BJP's Braham Singh is leading in Okhla by 1633 votes.

Results (so far):

Total: 70

AAP 58

BJP: 12

Congress: 0

(Image Credit: AAP Twitter)

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.