June 21, 2024 03:57 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Pune woman hangs from building edge holding a man's hand just for an Instagram reel. Read here | BJP's Bhartruhari Mahtab appointed Pro Tem Speaker, Congress calls it 'first mistake' | Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal gets bail in liquor policy case | CBI probe into UGC-NET 2024 has been ordered, says Education Ministry a day after cancelling exam | Darshan Thoogudeepa involved murder case: Renukaswamy's testicles were ruptured, face was half-eaten by dogs
Delhi Assembly Polls: Voting picks up, many political leaders exercise their franchise
tweeted by @SpokespersonECI

Delhi Assembly Polls: Voting picks up, many political leaders exercise their franchise

| @indiablooms | 08 Feb 2020, 07:38 am

New Delhi/IBNS: After a slow start, voting in Delhi is gradually picking up with 15.57% voter turnout recorded at 12 noon for the 70-member Delhi assembly.

A total of 672 candidates are in fray.

The polling began at 0800 hrs amid tight security arrangements.

Among the high profile brigade, today, were External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar, former vice president Hamid Ansari, Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan and BJP leader Ram Madhav.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, after taking blessings from his parents, cast his vote at around 0945 hrs.

Kejriwal tweeted a picture along with his family after voting.

There was a heavy deployment of personnel outside the polling booth in Civil lines. 

Delhi Deputy CM and Aam Aadmi Party candidate from Patparganj Assembly constituency, Manish Sisodia and his wife Seema Sisodia cast their vote at MCD school in Pandav Nagar.

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari was seen offering praying at his residence ahead of polls.

After voting, Tiwari took to his twitter handle to call up on the Delhites to come out and vote.

Lt Governor Anil Baijal and his wife Mala Baijal cast their vote at a polling station at Greater Kailash. AAP's sitting MLA and candidate Saurabh Bhardwaj is contesting against BJP's Shikha Rai and Congress's Sukhbir Pawar from here.

Congress interim President Sonia Gandhi, party's general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, leader Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh on Saturday exercised their franchise for the 2020 Delhi Assembly polls.

BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi after exercising her franchise expressed confidence in her party to win the polls. "Lies are being spread by Aam Aadmi Party", she told reporters. She exercised her franchise at a polling station in South Extension part II.

Congress candidate from the Chandni Chowk assembly constituency, Alka Lamba cast her vote at Tagore Garden Extension. Ms Lamba, who left AAP, joined Congress in October in 2019.

BJP MP Parvesh Verma cast his vote at a polling station in Matiala assembly constituency.

AAP candidate from Rajinder Nagar, Raghav Chadha also cast his vote at a polling station in Rajinder Nagar. Congress's Rocky Tuseed and BJP's RP Singh are contesting from the assembly constituency here.

Around 1.47 crore eligible voters of Delhi will elect representatives for the 70-member Delhi assembly from 672 candidates from 0800 hrs to 1800 hrs today.

The voter turnout, according to some experts, is being considered very important in these elections as it can change poll prospects of any candidate.

Polling will end at 1800 hrs and the results will be announced on February 11.

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.