December 06, 2022 06:57 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi chairs all-party meet over India's G20 presidency | 'Cocaine started coming into India': Nirmala Sitharaman warns officers, asks to up vigil | BJP to sweep Gujarat, faces tight fight with Congress in Himachal, AAP to win Delhi civic elections: Exit poll | FIFA World Cup 2022: England sail into quarterfinals with 3-0 win over Senegal | Supreme Court junks plea on Taj Mahal age
BJP names Alpesh Thakor for Gujarat by-poll

BJP names Alpesh Thakor for Gujarat by-poll

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 30 Sep 2019, 06:39 am

New Delhi, Sept 30 (UNI): In a key decision, the BJP Central Election Committee has decided to field Congress rebels Alpesh Thakor and Dhavalsinh Zala from their respective seats of Radhanpur and Bayad by-elections to Gujarat assembly.

Both these leaders had resigned as Congress MLAs recently creating ripples in Gujarat politics. The defection of Alpesh Thakor was chiefly considered a 'big catch' by the saffron camp as Alpesh was one of three strong youth leaders along with Jignesh Mewani and Hardik Patel in the Congress during 2017 assembly elections.

According to BJP working president, the other four saffron party nominees for by-polls in Gujarat will be Jivraj Patel from Tharad constituency, Ajmal Thakor from Kheralu, Jagdish Patel from Amraiwadi and Jignesh Sevak from Lunawada constituency.

Meanwhile, sources said Gujarat BJP president Jitu Vaghani and party general secretary K C Patel, along with minister in Gujarat government Dilip Thakor will accompany Alpesh Thakor when he files the nomination.

The last day for filing of nomination is Oct 4.

The BJP Central Election Committee held a meeting here on Sunday to finalise its candidates for the assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra.

"Joined extensive Central Election Committee meetings for elections in Haryana and Maharashtra. We are going to polls in these states based on our development work and double engine of the Centre and State Governments, led by popular as well as industrious Chief Ministers," Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted late last night.

Prime Minister was felicitated at the start of the meeting. Besides Prime Minister, party chief Amit Shah and working president J P Nadda among others deliberated at length with other party colleagues and state leaders to finalise names of candidates.

Some names of candidates could be announced on Monday, sources said. 

Image Credit: UNI