January 20, 2021 18:56 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'We were scared to lose': Michael Clarke criticises Australia's negative attitude against India | West Bengal: Dhupguri road mishap kills at least 14 | Inspired by Mamata's 'spirit', former CAB joint secretary Biswarup Dey joins Trinamool Congress | Fuel prices remain stable | Gujarat renames dragon fruit as 'Kamalam', CM Vijay Rupani says 'nothing political'
Four TDP MPs in Rajya Sabha join BJP
Image Credit: @BJP4India on Twitter

Four TDP MPs in Rajya Sabha join BJP

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 20 Jun 2019, 01:17 pm

New Delhi, Jun 20 (IBNS): Four of the six TDP MPs in the Rajya Sabha joined the BJP on Thursday.

The four MPs -  C.M. Ramesh, Garikapati Mohan Rao and T.G. Venkatesh - met Vice President Venkaiah Naidu, who is also the Rajya Sabha chairman, this evening and and gave him a letter that said they had "decided to merge" the TDP's Legislature Party with the BJP with immediate effect.

Reports said the four were accompanied by the new BJP working president J.P. Nadda.

“Inspired and encouraged by the impeccable leadership of Narendra Modiji and the devleopment policies being pursued by him in the overall interest of the nation, we have decided to merge with the BJP with immediate effect,” Hindustan Times quoted the letter as saying.

TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu, who is now in the US, said this crisis was nothing new.

"We fought with the BJP only for Special Category Status and the state's interests. We sacrificed Central Ministers for Special Status," news agency ANI quoted Naidu as saying.